Shinderera

シンデレラ (Shinderera) · 灰姑娘 · Cinderella

In:
[Single] Cinderella  – track 6
[Album] good-bye – track 4
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – CD 1 track 6

 

With this post, I have completed all songs and liner notes in the album good-bye. I wanted to finish this album first because of the liner notes, which provide nice brief insights into Oku Hanako’s song writing thoughts. This song has also been translated by Kazabana.

 

English

I saw azure clouds on my way home; ever since the day I admitted my feelings
My happy place was right by your side

The awkward ways we called out each other’s name and held hands
Those moments are nostalgic, I wanted to always be together

It feels painful to love you so much, I want to trust you but I have my doubts
When someone says “Let’s break up”
It’s because they want to be told “I don’t want to break up”

Thank you for everything to this day, I really do like you a lot
Because I know that you’re not one to tell jokes like that
I’m suddenly like Cinderella after the magic faded
The present moment still cannot become a memory

The matching pair of mugs, everything that we chose together
Along with the feelings of affection, are the things you left behind

I can’t sleep, I’ve cried my eyes out, I just want to see you again
As I wait for your reply, in my hand
Only the words “no new messages” are glowing

I truly am happy that I met you
Though I can’t openly admit it with a smile right now
I’m like Cinderella after she lost something precious
I can’t walk without my glass slipper

All the time I spent with you will always be treasured
Even on days when we fought, you stayed by my side

Thank you for everything to this day, I truly always liked you a lot
I will be able to openly admit that with a smile
I’m suddenly like Cinderella after the magic faded
Our days together will turn into memories

 

Self Liner Notes

Being in love is like being under a spell, the whole world looks like it is shining, it feels like you’re riding in a pumpkin carriage, just like in the fairy tale of Cinderella ~ That is what I thought about as I started composing this song.

It’s a song I didn’t have before, a very positive song about being lovelorn, so I got a new pair of black glasses and a skirt, it’s a song worthy of an anniversary (laugh).

In the MV I played the piano on the snow fields of Biei, Hokkaido, it was a precious experience.

 

Translation notes

The Chinese translation and Kazabana’s translation are mostly similar in meaning. The main difference between them is in verse 3 and verse 4. More specifically, it is verse 3, lines 2-3, and verse 4, line 1.

The literal meaning of the Chinese translation is:

Like you too much so feel hurt; want to trust but have doubts
Say “Let’s break up”
Because want to hear the sentence “Don’t want to break up”

Up to today thank you, truly like you very much
Because know you are not someone who tells this kind of joke
I suddenly like Cinderella with the magic released
Right now still cannot become memory

The Chinese translation does not clearly indicate a specific person saying the lines “Let’s break up” and “Don’t want to break up”. I didn’t notice anything to help in the Japanese lyrics either. In verse 4, when the singer says that she knows the listener would not make “this kind of joke”, I thought that it was referring to pretending to want to break up as a way to check how the other person feels. As such, my interpretation was that the singer mentioned the lines in verse 3 as a general case, and implied that the listener said he wanted to break up, which the singer believed to be his honest feelings:

It feels painful to love you so much, I want to trust you but I have my doubts
When someone says “Let’s break up”
It’s because they want to be told “I don’t want to break up”

Thank you for everything to this day, I really do like you a lot
Because I know that you’re not one to tell jokes like that
I’m suddenly like Cinderella after the magic faded
The present moment still cannot become a memory

Kazabana’s translation is:

I loved you too much that it became painful
Even though I wanted to believe you, I had doubts
I said “Let’s break up” because
I only wanted to hear the words “I don’t want to break up with you”

“Thank you for everything until now, I truly loved you”
Because I know you weren’t joking when you said that
I am like Cinderella when the spell suddenly ended
Even now, I still can’t turn it into a memory

Kazabana has the singer saying “Let’s break up”, which would not be strange because the line immediately before is from the singer’s point of view. The not-a-joke by the listener is now the first line of verse 4, which is said by someone in response to the statement of breaking up. I think that this interpretation makes sense and is a good interpretation. I do, however, lean slightly towards preferring the thank you statement to be said by the singer because that way it matches the thank you statement attributed to the singer in verse 9.

 

There is one more difference in verse 2 line 1. The Chinese translation says that the singer and listener were awkward with one another whereas Kazabana’s translation says that they were not awkward.

The line in Japanese is:

お互いの名前の呼び方も 手の繋ぎ方も ぎこちなくて
Otagai no namae no yobi kata mo te no tsunagi kata mo gikochinakute

The way we called each other’s name and the way we held hands were <insert meaning of ぎこちなくて (gikochinakute)>

Romajidesu says that ぎこちなくて (gikochinakute) appears to be the て-form (connective form) and ない-form (negative form) of ぎこち (gikochi). However, it appears that the base form is ぎこちない (gikochinai), which already means “awkward”, or more specifically is “action that is unrefined and not yet smooth due to lack of practice”. As the ない is part of the base form instead of modifying it, the singer and listener’s behaviour should be described as awkward.

 

Simplified Chinese

回家路上看到蓝色云朵  从告白那天起
我的幸福之所  就是你身边

彼此喊着对方的方式  牵手的方式  都还很青涩
那时真令人怀念  要一在一起这么久喔

太过喜欢你而感到痛苦  想相信却怀疑
说出“分手吧”
是因为想听到“不想分手”这句话

至今谢谢你  真的好喜欢你
因为知道  你不是会开这种玩笑的人
我突然  好像魔法被解开的灰姑娘一样
现在  还不能当成回忆

成对的马克杯  全部都是我俩一起挑选的
和喜欢这份心情一起  是你留下的东西

睡不着哭累了  想再见你一次
我的手中  等着你的回信
却只是“没有新的简讯”这行文字发着光

和你相遇  真的好幸福
我现在  还不能带着笑说出口
就像  遗落了重要东西的灰姑娘一样
穿着玻璃鞋  我没办法走路

和你一起度过的一切永远都是珍贵的
吵架的日子  你也在我身边呢

至今谢谢你  真的好喜欢你  永远
我会  能带着笑说出口的
我突然  好像魔法被解开的灰姑娘一样
我俩的日子  渐渐变成回忆

 

Self Liner Notes

恋爱时就像被施下魔法一样、全世界看起来都像在发着光、正如灰姑娘的故事里、坐上南瓜马车时的感觉~边这么想着边开始写下这首歌。是以往没有的、很积极的失恋歌曲、所以换了新的黑色眼镜也挑战了裙子、是值得纪念的一首歌(笑)。

MV是在北海道美瑛的雪原上弹钢琴、是一次很珍贵的经验。

3 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    Congratulations on finishing the album!

    The Chinese translation does not clearly indicate a specific person saying the lines “Let’s break up” and “Don’t want to break up”. I didn’t notice anything to help in the Japanese lyrics either.

    The Japanese here is subtle, but it’s there. Here’s the Japanese:

    「別れよう」って言ったのは
    「別れたくない」って言葉が聞きたかっただけなのに

    The key part that indicates who’s saying what is in the verb kikitakatta / 聞きたかった: this is the past tense of kikitai / 聞きたい, which is the “desire” form of kiku / 聞く (“to hear”, “to listen”). I’ve been told that you can only use the 〜たい desire form on yourself because you can never really know what anyone else is thinking/feeling. To use a desire form on other people, you have to use the 〜たがる form instead of the 〜たい form, or use the と思います (“I think”) or と言っていました (“they said”) constructs (these are the polite forms). Furthermore, it’s in the past tense, not present or future, which suggests to me that the “said” and “wanted to hear” had already happened. So based on this, I think it is the singer who wants to hear “I don’t want to break up”. Logically, it then follows that it is the singer who said “Let’s break up”, and the listener replying.

    I guess the interpretation of verse 4 would depend on your interpretation for verse 3. To try to explain Kazabana’s translation, here’s the first line of the verse:

    今まで有難う 本当に大好きだったよなんて

    I imagine this line is actually 今まで有難う 本当に大好きだったよなの, followed by って (informal form of と, used as a quotation marker). なの is changed to なん, and ん + って is んて. As far as I can tell, nothing following this line suggests that the singer is the one saying or thinking this line, so it’s reasonable to assume that it’s the listener who said it.

    Having said that, making verse 3 a general statement makes for an interesting interpretation.

    As for ぎこちなくて, I agree that Kazabana’s “not awkard” is a mistranslation, and Jisho also confirms it. If ごこち were indeed the base form of the adjective, then this would be a な-adjective, and the negative would be ぎこちじゃない, and the negative て-form would be ぎこちじゃなくて (positive て-form would be ぎこちで). Instead, ぎこちない is an い-adjective that just happens to have ない as its base ending, and its postive て-form is ぎこちなくて; the negative て-form would be ぎこちなくなくて. A similar confusing adjective is つまらない (“boring”). I’ve made this correction in my posted translation.

    Like

Leave a comment

