Rosu Taimu

ロスタイム (Rosu Taimu) · 伤停时间 · Loss Time

In:
[Album] good-bye – track 1

 

This song has also been translated by Rosanne.

 

English

I like you so much that it makes me lonely; I still hurt you even though I am regretful
I always indulged in your kindness

We teased each other over petty issues; we lightly kissed our entwined fingers
I cried at the ticket gate even though I would see you very soon

It was you who taught me how to feel lonely and uneasy, and how to love someone
My final request is please teach me how to forget the person I like

Our meetings, our partings, all of our days were like a dream
To this day, thinking of your voice and warmth still stops me in my tracks

Your face as you sleep, your mouth when you’re annoyed, the two aligned moles on your back
You saying “I don’t want anyone to see these”, that is how I remember you

It was you who taught me lovingness and loneliness, and how to be pampered
My final request is please teach me how to forget the person I like

The talks about our dreams, and the places we have walked through together
The joys and pains we shared will never fade; I don’t want them to fade, not a single one

We argued a lot and I cried a lot, but for some reason the memories that I recall
Are all of us laughing together, of all the places where we laughed together

Our meetings, our partings, all of our days were like a dream
Thinking of your voice and warmth still stops me in my tracks
I won’t forget them; I don’t want to forget them; never ever

 

Self Liner Notes

After breaking up with a lover, it would be much easier if you could hate the other person… I used to think that way. Actually, the title for this song was initially “The Person I Like”.

But as I listened to the guitar prelude being recorded in the recording studio, I slowly got the impression that “Loss Time” was a more suitable title for the song, so I decided that this would be the title.

 

Translation notes

The Chinese translation of the title is usually used to mean “injury time”, i.e. the extra time added on after full time of a football match ends. As an aside, there is TV drama called Loss Time: Life, where each episode focuses on a new character who is about to die and is given a little more time to live. There appears to a Japanese version (aired 2008) and a Korean version (aired 2015).

Anyway, the site I linked earlier alleges that “loss time” is how the Japanese refer to “injury time”. It makes sense to say “lost time” instead of “loss time”, as Rosanne does in her translation of the song title, because the extra playing time is to compensate for time that was lost. That being said, other internet sources refer to the TV drama as Loss Time, so I guess that Loss Time may be the more “familiar” translation for ロスタイム.

In the liner notes, Oku Hanako says that she initially named the song “The Person I Like”, but changed her mind. Maybe she’s secretly a football fan?! The initial title choice “The Person I Like” is not a bad one, in my opinion, because the song focuses on the singer’s thoughts and still lingering feelings for her ex.

I do like the mystery and sense of discovery that “Loss Time” brings to the song. Why has she composed a song about being at a football match with a boyfriend?! The name doesn’t give away anything about the song, unlike “The Person I Like”. After knowing that the song means, and thinking about what “loss time” is, I find a kind of thrill in making a connection between the two. Full time for a football is 90 minutes, yet after the clock has reached full time, the players can continue to play because of injury time (extra time is a separate matter). In the song, the singer’s relationship has ended (reached full time), but she hasn’t moved on yet and continues to love her ex (she’s still “playing” in injury time).

If I were to search for a deeper, hidden meaning, I would say that the title also alludes to the singer hoping that she can return to being lovers with the listener. In a game of football, there are times when the result of the match at full time is changed by events that happen in injury time. So, the singer may be hoping that there is something she can do or that something will happen to let her and the listener make up.

I don’t have any comments on comparing Rosanne’s translation and the Chinese translation because they are largely similar.

 

Simplified Chinese

喜欢的过了头  好寂寞  虽然觉得抱歉还是伤了你
你的温柔  一直依赖着

因为一些小事  互相闹着  交叠的手指  轻吻了一点
明明很快就能见面  但却在剪票口哭了呢

你  教会我  寂寞不安  还有爱人的方法
最后求你  也教我怎么忘记喜欢的人吧

相遇  分离  所有的日子都如梦一般
你的声音  你的温度  一想起就无法动弹  现在也是如此

睡脸  沮丧时的嘴型  背上两颗并列着的痣
说着不想让任何人看见  想起了这样的你

你  教会我  深爱及孤独  撒娇的方法
最后求你  也教我怎么忘记喜欢的人吧

谈论过的我俩的梦  我俩一起走过的  每个地方
我俩一起分享的  喜悦悲伤  不会失去  不想失去  一切都是

吵了好多架  大哭好多场  不知为何回想起的
都是我俩笑着  与你笑着的模样

相遇  分离  所有的日子都如梦一般
你的声音  你的温度  一想起就无法动弹
忘不了  不想忘  永远

 

Self Liner Notes

和恋人分手后、如果能讨厌对方会有多么轻松呢…曾这么想过。其实这首歌、一开始的歌名是“喜欢的人”。

但是在录音室录音时听着前奏吉他的声音、印象就渐渐浮现、觉得“伤停时间”这个名字比较适合这首歌、所以决定了这首歌名。

3 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    I knew the original title was Suki na Hito / 好きな人 from noburin28’s blog post, but I didn’t realize that it was from the self-liner notes. Also according to the blog post, it’s distinct from another 好きな人 from her indies.

    As you found, the popular translation for the song’s title is “Loss Time”, and I do remember seeing it as “Injury Time” elsewhere. I originally posted it as “Loss Time”, changing it after Rosanne posted her translation. I didn’t know about the TV drama, but I had posted this at a time when I wouldn’t do as much research as I do now. I’m pretty sure Thoughts on Oku Hanako is the only source that calls it “Lost Time”; it can probably go both ways.

    I haven’t visited Rosanne’s translations in quite a while now, but in comparing yours and hers, along with the original Japanese now that I can actually read it, I realize that she had been translating sightly more liberally than I had expected. Whether that’s a good thing or not depends on what you want out of a translation. Out of curiosity, how much did you reference her translation while making yours?

    Like

Leave a comment

