Usotsuki

嘘つき (Usotsuki) · 骗子 · Liar

In:
[Album] Prism – track 10

 

English

I’d rather you had said “I already like someone else”
“I’m still unable to accept your sudden love confession”
What? Why? You started to look troubled
And then, I could no longer hold back my tears

Am I the only one who believed there were times we loved and words we repeated?

Time and time again I go to see you, even though I know it’ll only hurt me
You say you hate me, and won’t hold me; you consider me a liar

Being half-hearted with your kindness is your specialty
Or perhaps it is your final reply to me
I must forget you; each time I think about forgetting you
You once again forcefully engrave yourself in my heart

I thought that together we would see futures we dream of and tears we forgive

I want your warmth removed quickly because the desire to see you is a hindrance to me
Say goodbye and don’t deceive me; you consider me a liar

The desire to see you has faded

Time and time again I go to see you, even though I know it’ll only hurt me
You say you hate me, and won’t hold me; you consider me a liar
If this continues, I may as well be a liar

 

Translation notes

1. Verse 2

Am I the only one who believes there were times we loved and words we repeated?

I’m pretty sure the Chinese translation does not match the Japanese in part of this line. The part of the line in Japanese is

私だけが信じていたの?
watashi dake ga shinjiteita no?

Japanese uses particles to identify the subject and object for a verb. In this case, the particle is が (ga), which identifies the doer of the verb, 私 (watashi) – I, and the verb is 信じていた (shinjiteita). So the Japanese line means “I believe”.

The Chinese translation is

只相信我一人吗?

Chinese follows the subject-verb-object order for grammar, so the doer of the action is put before the verb and the thing the action is done to comes after the verb. The word 我 is used for “I”, and the translation puts it after the verb 相信, so the translation means “believe me” instead of “I believe”.

 

2. Verse 7

The desire to see you has faded

The literal meaning of the Chinese translation is “The desire to meet slowly moved away from you”. I believe the Japanese translation has a similar literal meaning. I took it to mean that the speaker no longer wants to meet “you” and rephrased it to that effect.

 

At the start, the singer confesses her love for the listener, but he turns her down with a vague rejection. If the listener had given her a clear rejection, the singer may have been able to move on instead of continuing to pine for him in her heart. When the singer sees the listener, he says and does hurtful things, but there is something kind in his manner. The listener’s hint of kindness is enough to keep the singer hoping for more, so the singer probably thinks the listener is lying about where his affections lie.

The singer is aware that the rejection means she shouldn’t continue thinking about the listener or going to see him, but she still does. In the second to last verse, the singer claims to no longer want to see the listener, but the last verse implies she does it anyway. The singer realises that by doing so she is lying to herself about having moved on.

 

Simplified Chinese

有了喜欢的人了  能这样说就好了
对于你突然的告白  还不能完全接受
是怎么了?为什么?你露出困惑的脸
而我从此  泪水就  停不下来

相爱的时间  交叠的话语  只相信我一人吗?

即使知道会受伤  仍无数次地想要见你
你说讨厌我  不愿紧抱我  你  把我视为骗子

半途而废的温柔  是你最擅长的
或者这是对我的  最后的回答
必须遗忘  在每次想要忘却之时  你总是
不请自来深刻烙印在我心中

梦想的未来  原谅的泪水  会以为两人可一起看见

想见面的心情扰乱着我  想尽早消去有你的温暖
虽说了再见  也请不要敷衍我  你  把我视为骗子

想见面的心情  逐渐疏远了你

即使知道会受伤  仍无数次地想见你
你说讨厌我  不愿紧抱我  你  把我视为骗子
就这样  我就是骗子也好

2 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    Interesting. Just looking at the title, I would have thought the song was calling the listener a liar instead of the singer herself. Of course, Oku Hanako isn’t really one to write those kinds of lyrics, so this shouldn’t come as a surprise.

    While I’m inclined to agree with your translation for 「私だけが信じていたの?」, I wouldn’t consider it so obvious. If the phrase had used は or を, it would have been very easy to tell if 私 is the subject or object, but it uses が instead. One interpretation of が is as a subject particle as you have interpreted it, often singling out a particular “doer” rather than a general subject/topic. The other way is as an object particle, which is the way the Chinese translator interpreted it as. The verb 信じる takes an object. I’m not sure if it applies in this case or when exactly it happens, but there are some instances where you’d use が instead of を for the object. The reason I’m more inclined to agree with your translation is that I feel it would be much harder to interpret/translate it when taken in context if が denoted the object.

    As for the second note, I would actually translate the Japanese (会いたい想いが あなたを遠ざけた) as “The desire to see you kept you away” (or “shunned you” or “avoided you”), which I think is slightly different in meaning from both your translation and the Chinese translation. I’m a little unsure of how to interpret that because of the past tense of the verb.

    Like

    • Edward

      Thanks for your as usual informative comments! An entertainer who can still deliver surprises despite being followed for several years is good to have in one’s life. I think you have a point on the second note. Perhaps it could be “The desire to see you has increased the distance between us”?

      Like

Leave a comment

