Himitsu no Takaramono

秘密の宝物 (Himitsu no Takaramono) · 秘密的宝物 · Secret Treasure

In:
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – CD 1 track 7
[Album] Utakata – track 10

 

English

Around this time last year my chest felt hot because of how you held your pen in your left hand
By chance, I touched your arm; I want to follow you wherever you go

We might be noticed if we’re alone together, so I knowingly said something nasty

Stop me; stop me before my fingertips touch you…

Can’t I like you?
Can’t I want to see you?
I want to know your feelings, but you just tease me as you always do

In the corner of the notebook I lent to you, I saw a scribbled drawing
Although I know it was nothing important, from that day on it was a treasure to me

If I shared my thoughts with you now, you might mistake it for a joke
I won’t get anywhere; I won’t get anywhere if I’m scared of being hurt…

What would happen if I said I like you?
Can’t I stay beside you?
I don’t know your feelings, so let’s stay as we are for a little longer

I want to be the person closest to you; I hope you will also feel the same way
Can’t I like you? Can’t I want to see you?
You really are too precious to me, so let’s stay as we are for a little longer

 

Translation notes

1. Verse 4, line 3

I want to know your feelings, but you just tease me as you always do

The Japanese and Chinese do not agree on who usually teases whom.

The relevant part in Chinese is

如往常般的都是我先起头闹你

Chinese identifies the subject and object by placing the subject before a verb and the object after the verb. Here, 闹 – tease – is the verb, 我 – I, me – is the subject, and 你 – you – is the object. So, the Chinese says “I tease you”.

The relevant part in Japanese is

いつも通りあたしをからかっていて
Itsumo toori atashi wo karakatteite

Japanese identifies the subject and object by using particles. The particle used here is を (wo), which is placed immediately after the object of the verb. The object here is をから (atashi) – I, me – and the verb is からかっていて (karakatteite) which has the base form からかう (karakau) – to tease. So, the Japanese says “[you] tease me”.

 

2. Verse 5, line 1

In the corner of the notebook I lent to you, I saw a scribbled drawing

The Japanese and Chinese do not agree on who borrowed the notebook.

The relevant part in Chinese is

跟你借来的笔记

In Chinese 借 can be used for both “to borrow” and “to lend”. The distinction can often be made by adding other words. If the word 给 – give – is added, it makes 借给 which means “to lend”. If the word 来 – come – is added, it makes 借来 which means “to borrow”. Furthermore, the structure 跟 [person] 借来 means “borrow from [person]”. The Chinese translation is 跟你借来, and 你 means “you”, so it is saying “[I] borrow from you”.

The relevant part in Japanese is

あなたに貸したノート
anata ni kashita nooto

Japanese has distinct words for borrowing and lending. “To borrow” is 借りる (kariru) and “to lend” is 貸す (kasu). Here, the word used is貸した (kashita) which has the base form貸す (kasu). Furthermore, the particle に (ni) is placed after the indirect object that the action is directed towards. Here, the lending is directed towards あなた (anata) – you. So, the Japanese says “[I] lend to you”.

 

I don’t particularly like the tune, but the lyrics have something sweet that appeals to me. Perhaps it’s how the lyrics create an image of the singer being someone who is nervously in love. Perhaps it’s how the singer appears vulnerable as she realises that she is caught between her desire to get closer and her fear of having her feelings rejected. Perhaps it’s because she will say something that is “not cute” to hide her crush from other people.

Or maybe I’ve seen one too many anime shows where two characters obviously like each other but neither one will make the first move.

 

Simplified Chinese

因左手拿笔的模样  而胸口温热是在去年的此时
不小心碰到你的手  想要追随你到任何地方

若两人独处好像就会被发现  所以故意说了不可爱的话

在指尖触碰之前  阻止我  阻止我…

不能只是喜欢吗
不能只是想见面吗
虽想知道你的心情  但如往常般的都是我先起头闹你

再跟你借来的笔记角落  看到了随兴画的画
虽知道这没什么大不了  但从那天起这就是我的宝物

要是现在告诉你我的心意  可以说是玩笑敷衍过去
若害怕受伤就哪儿也去不了  去不了…

若只是说喜欢会怎么样呢
不能只是在身旁吗
不懂你的心意  所以再保持一下这样的我俩吧

比谁都想接近你  希望能有相同的心情
不能只是喜欢吗  不能只是想见面吗
你果然还是太重要了  所以再保持一下这样的我俩吧

Leave a comment

