Aimai na Kuchibiru

曖昧な唇 (Aimai na Kuchibiru) · 暧昧的唇 · Vague Lips

In:
[Album] Kimi to Boku no Michi – track 6

 

English

The words “I like you” are not enough
But “I love you” seems too much
Maybe the words that say you are just right
Are falling somewhere in this room

We huddle together in this loneliness that cannot be eased
Although we know that we are deceiving the present and ourselves
My voice filled with false bravado and my frail sigh
Are both silenced by your lips

Between the captivity of love and the freedom of solitude
The two of us must be just right
Don’t ask about anything, just give a little smile
If you open the door, I will forget again

The heart should have more than one place to belong
I will accustom myself to being pampered again
If I have nothing, then I won’t lose anything
I said gleefully; hey, tease me

Between the captivity of love and the freedom of solitude
Let me stay here a little longer
The words that say you are just right
Still can’t be found anywhere

The words “I like you” are not enough
But “I love you” is too much

 

Translation notes

In Japanese, 曖昧 (aimai) can be translated to mean “vague; ambiguous”. In Chinese, 暧昧 (pronounced quite similarly as ài mèi) has that meaning too, and, when applied to relationships, it means that the people in the relationship behave closer than friends but are not lovers. Curious as to whether this meaning is also used in Japanese, I searched and found some evidence for it to be so. Further evidence may be this song because that is the type of relationship that the lyrics describe.

 

Simplified Chinese

喜欢这句话  不足够
我爱你  好像又太夸张
要表现你  刚刚好的话语
有在这房间的某处  掉落着吗

无法满足的寂寞  我俩互相依偎
就算知道是在敷衍现在与自己
我逞强的声音  软弱的叹息
都用你的唇  填塞

名为爱的束缚与  名为自由的孤独之间
我俩一定  刚刚好
什么都别问  只要微笑就好
只要打开门  我也会忘怀

心的归所  不一定只要一个
自己也会渐渐习惯撒娇
要是什么都没有  就不会失去任何东西
有点得意的这么说  呐  笑我吧

名为爱的束缚与  名为自由的孤独之间
让我再多待一会儿吧
要表现你  刚刚好的话语
还是到处都找不到

喜欢这句话  不足够
我爱你  太夸张了呢

One comment

  1. Pingback: Rashinban | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English

Leave a comment

