Tokyo Kurashi

東京暮らし (Tokyo Kurashi) · 东京生活 · Living in Tokyo

In:
[Album] Prism – track 3

 

English

Whenever I said “I’m home”, I would always hear someone reply “welcome home”
Everyone had dinner together, and we laughed about trivial matters

The everyday life that I took for granted
Is something that I now realise cannot be replaced
As I walk alone on the streets of Tokyo, I want to make my footsteps echo through the streets

The sky that I see from the window in my room
I can say that I like it more today than I did yesterday
In the distance beyond the window, illuminated by the evening sun
I can see my hometown that is always in my heart

Day after day I delayed doing things I didn’t understand, even though I wanted to do them
I couldn’t do it alone, but I still chose to live as if I knew best

I have someone who cares about me
So I now understand how warm it feels
As I walk alone on the streets of Tokyo, I’ll use my own power to search for the door to tomorrow

By the time the street is bathed in the evening light
My tears will have dried and I can smile
From the balcony, I can see the city street that connects to my hometown road
The path will always be in my heart

From here I’ll take my first step towards my dream
There is only one door that the key in my hand can open

The sky that I see from the window in my room
I can say that I like it more today than I did yesterday
In the distance beyond the window, illuminated by the evening sun
I can see my hometown that is always in my heart

 

Translation notes

As a fan of Oku Hanako, it is easy to start wondering how much of this song is based on her own experience. Oku Hanako has signed a record deal with Pony Canyon, which has its headquarters in Tokyo, and presumably that means she does most of her work there. Her birthplace is Funabashi, Chiba, which is not very far from Tokyo – a google of “Funabashi to Tokyo” returns travel times of 39-41 minutes by car over 32.1-36.4 km. Thus, the lyrics relating to the view of the singer’s hometown from the singer’s room can be applied to Oku Hanako’s circumstances, and I think most of the song is very likely based on her personal experience. Oku Hanako does write songs based on experiences that others have shared with her, so it is possible that the inspiration for the song did not come solely from her.

I see this song as a companion to 帰っておいで (Kaette Oide) because one song is about a person leaving their hometown to seek their fortune in a big city and the other song is about reminding them to return home sometime. These songs may be considered love songs too, just that it’s familial love instead of romantic love.

 

Simplified Chinese

说出我回来了  总是会听到  你回来了的回应
和大家一起吃晚餐  笑着闲聊无聊的话题

理所当然的日常生活
如今终于了解  是无可替代的东西喔
独自走在东京街头  今天也要让自己的脚步声音彻街道

对着这房间窗户  看出去的天空
比起昨天  今天更能说出喜欢了
午后阳光映照窗户的另一边
可以看到故乡  总在我的心中

即使有想做的事  也因不了解  而拖延的每一天
明明是无法独立完成的  却自以为是的生活着

因为还有关心我的人
现在终于了解  是多么温暖啊
独自走在东京街道  用自己的步伐  找寻通往明日的门扉

当着街道染上夕阳之时
眼泪也风干  仿佛可以笑了
从阳台上看见的  都会街道
和故乡相连的道路  无时无刻都在心中

此刻才要开始  迈出梦想的第一步
手上的这把钥匙  可以开启的门扉仅有一个

对着这房间窗户  看出去的天空
比起昨天  今天更能说出喜欢了
午后阳光映照窗户的另一边
可以看到故乡  总在我的心中

4 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    This is my favourite song on the album after Sukidattanda. Even having just heard the song’s title, given the circumstances, the lyrics and the way she sings it, I have no doubt that this is based on personal experience and that she sings from her heart. What solidifies it for me is the last line of the chours:

    ふるさとが見える いつも私の心の中
    Furusato ga mieru itsumo watashi no kokoro no naka
    I can see my hometown that is always in my heart

    Interesting comparison with Kaette Oide / 帰っておいで. It’s very fitting, too, given that Kaette Oide was written about 10 years earlier, released on her first major album.

    Like

    • Edward

      Many of Oku Hanako’s songs have romance as the main theme, so the songs that do not have romance as the main theme make me wonder whether they can fit with each other. In this case, I thought that Tokyo Kurashi and Kaette Oide were a match.

      Would you mind sharing what it is about Tokyo Kurashi that you like?

      Like

      • tPenguinLTG

        I’m a bit of a sucker for nostalgia, so something sentimental like this about not forgetting her past while still moving forward is very easy to like. As well, like many of her songs, she sings this in a very heartfelt way. Musically, the main instrument is still the piano, with an arrangement that isn’t at all overwhelming, but is instead very complementary. I’d especially like to highlight the use of the oboe just before the bridge whose sound and timing add a nice warm touch.

        Like

      • Edward

        I agree on your assessment of the arrangement. I never noticed the oboe, at least not consciously. The moment when it is the main sound does add a nice touch to the song.

        Like

Leave a comment

