Tomodachi no Mama de

友達のままで (Tomodachi no Mama de) · 当朋友就好 · Let’s Stay Friends

In:
[Album] Prism – track 6

 

English

We have been friends since long ago
So nothing is shameful or secret between us
Even if you embarrass yourself, even if you’re not being cute
I don’t mind at all; that is how I am

I always call you on a whim to talk about our latest doings
At some point, whenever you mentioned your girlfriend
I would start to behave unnaturally

I don’t want to fall in love with you
Let’s stay friends forever
I don’t want to fall in love with you
I hate it when the mood turns awkward
But I don’t want to never see you again
I hope you won’t notice
That I’m smiling more often than usual

Even if there isn’t a reason, even if my heart isn’t beating excitedly
It’s the first time that I’m thinking of someone in this way
Why is this happening? Why is it you?
Surely I could have fallen in love with someone else

I choose clothes that I think you might like, I check myself in the mirror many times
Even if I tell myself that it’s pointless
I can’t stop myself whenever I meet you

I don’t want to fall in love with you
Let’s stay just friends1
I don’t want to fall in love with you
I’m not jealous
And I’m not lonely either
An important person is already right by my side
Why do I still remain unaware?2

I don’t want to fall in love with you
Let’s stay friends forever
I don’t want to fall in love with you
I hate it when the mood turns awkward
But I don’t want to never see you again
I hope you won’t notice
That I’m smiling more often than usual
Let’s stay friends

 

Translation notes

1.

Let’s stay just friends

In this line the type of friend is described in Japanese as “答えのない友達 (kotae no nai tomodachi)” and in Chinese as “无需回应的朋友”. My literal translation of the Chinese is “friends who do not reply” and it appears that this could also apply to the Japanese. I think the “reply” is referring to a reply to a love confession. Taking it a step further, I think that it also implies no love confessions between the friends, i.e. they are friends and nothing more. As such, I translated this as “just friends”.

2.

An important person is already right by my side
Why do I still remain unaware?

In these two lines, the Japanese lyrics and the Chinese translation are not clear about whose side it is and who is unaware. I believe that it is the singer, who is reprimanding herself for denying that the listener is more than a friend to her. Alternatively, it could be the singer trying to tell the listener to see her as more than a friend. I think this is not the case because the singer has been saying she doesn’t want to fall in love with the listener, and it would be too cruel of the singer to ask the listener to fall in love with her while stopping herself loving him in return.

 

In this song, Oku Hanako presents a slightly different take on a girl crushing on a friend who already has a girlfriend. Rather than pine for the love that she knows she cannot have (not while the friend is dating another girl), the girl decides to convince herself that she is not in love with her friend. The conflict within the girl between accepting and denying her crush is conveyed in the lyrics.

 

Simplified Chinese

由于两人是从以前就认识的朋友
所以更加没有所谓害羞或秘密的事
就算出糗  就算不可爱
也完全不在意  我就是这样

总是心血来潮就联络你  互相聊着近况
不知何时开始  每当聊到你的女朋友时
我就会开始变得不自然

我并不想喜欢上你
想就这样做永远的朋友
我并不想喜欢上你
讨厌气氛变得尴尬
更不想看不到你
比起平常  变得稍微爱笑的我
希望你不会察觉

即使毫无来由  即使没有怦然心动
像这样子  想着一个人  还是第一次
到底是为什么呢  为什么是你呢
明明可以与其他人坠入情网

选了你可能喜欢的衣服  照了镜子好多次
就算对自己说了  是白费功夫
但一见到你  我便无法自拔

我并不想喜欢上你
就这样做无需回应的朋友
我并不想喜欢上你
我不是在吃醋
也不是感到寂寞
重要的人  明明就已经在身边
为什么还无法察觉呢

我并不想喜欢上你
想就这样做永远的朋友
我并不想喜欢上你
讨厌气氛变得尴尬
更不想看不到你
比起平常  变得稍微爱笑的我
希望你不会察觉
两人当朋友就好

Leave a comment

