blue green

blue green

In:
[Album] Kimi to Boku no Michi – track 3

 

English

I never knew the resemblance was so strong until now when I realised
I had been telling lies and had locked my heart away

I always stared at the distant sky because I was unsure

blue green; my days of crying and searching will never fade away
blue green; I don’t need a false love, not anymore

Even if your voice dazes me, even if I hurt you again
I have to be honest with my feelings; I won’t run away from them anymore

Even if the clouds change shape, nobody will ever notice

blue green; the things I embrace will be forgotten like dreams
blue green; I wait not for love, but for something that resembles love

Although you did no wrong, we will not meet again

blue green; my days of crying and searching will never disappear
blue green; I don’t need a false love, not anymore

 

Translation notes

The use of “blue green” in the lyrics is a mystery to me. I’m aware that the Japanese word 青い (aoi) may be translated as either blue or green. The Wikipedia entry on this says that it’s because the distinction between blue and green is not exactly the same in Japanese and English. I’m not aware of any particular significance to attach to the colours in the context of the lyrics. I like how it connects to the sky and clouds mentioned in verses 2 and 5, respectively.

The lyrics appear to be about the singer breaking up with the listener. This surprised me because I found the tune mesmerising and tranquil, so I was expecting the lyrics to be about a reflection on living instead of on a romance.

 

Simplified Chinese

我从不知道  真的很像  现在  终于发现
说着谎  对自己的心  上了锁紧闭着

会看着遥远天空  是因为总是迷惘着

blue green 哭泣索求的日子  永远不会消失吧
blue green 不需要虚伪的爱  已经不需要了

就算被你的声音  迷惑  就算又伤了你
也要对自己的心意诚实  不会逃去任何地方

就算云朵变换形状  任谁也不会发现

blue green 怀抱着的  会如梦般  忘却吧
blue green 等待着的  不是爱  是似爱的东西

虽然你没有错  但不会再见面了

blue green 哭泣索求的日子  永远不会消失吧
blue green 不需要虚伪的爱  已经不需要了

2 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    The meaning of “blue green” has also baffled me. According to one site, blue represents cleanliness and purity, while green represents fertility and growth. As you have pointed out before, youth also comes to mind. Reading the translation again and seeing all the sky imagery, maybe it just refers to the colour of the sky, possibly even addressing the sky (probably not that far, though). On a tangent, blue/green distinction in languages is an interesting read.

    On other things, first line: “I never knew the resemblance was so strong”. Resemblance to what?

    Like

    • Edward

      Good on picking up on the “resemblance” mentioned in the first line. I meant to comment on it but forgot. As far as I can tell, the Japanese lyrics and the Chinese translation do not clearly identify what the singer is referring to. If I had to guess, I think the singer is probably referring to herself and the listener being alike.

      Thank you for the information on the meaning of colours in Japanese culture. Based on that information, perhaps “blue green” refers to the purity, or genuineness, that the singer wants in her relationship. Looking at the lyrics from this point of view, the singer realised that she doesn’t really want to be in a relationship with the listener, but was trying to convince herself otherwise. Recalling the “resemblance” point, perhaps the singer thinks that the listener was also kidding himself to stay in the relationship with her.

      Like

Leave a comment

