Toshiue no Kare

年上の彼 (Toshiue no Kare) · 年长的他 · He’s An Older Man

In:
[Album] good-bye – track 2

 

English

You would wear your customary suit and carry a bag filled with difficult papers
You knew how to order alcohol and how to choose well-fitting clothes; he’s an older man

I seemed to dangle from your large arm when I walked slightly in front of you
Even if I stood on tiptoes or dressed fashionably, I still wasn’t on a par with you; he’s an older man

Your calmness always made it impossible to quarrel with you
My feelings stayed suppressed and they kept racing in circles

I finally reached the age that you were at back then
But no amount of time will let my age reach or pass yours
Back then, the thing that I could not fill up
Was certainly not the gap of 7 years, but the emptiness within the heart

I still remember your birthday; you are someone special to me
And that won’t change in the past or the present; he’s an older man

You never let me see your tiredness, frustration and weakness from working
You just lay there and laughed by my side; he’s an older man

If I happen to see you, will I call out to you without hesitation?
Will you feel that I have matured a little?

I finally reached the age that you were at back then
But no amount of time will let my age reach or pass yours
I will never equal you in wealth, knowledge or experience
The only advantage I have over you is my affection

I finally reached the age that you were at back then
But no amount of time will let my age reach or pass yours
Back then, the thing that I could not fill up
Was certainly not the gap of 7 years, but the emptiness within the heart
The only advantage I have over you is my affection

 

Self Liner Notes

An age gap can at times be a good thing, and at other times it can be the reason that creates an insurmountable obstacle. Differences in social standing, differences in circumstances, even if there are multiple differences, if people can be truly connected by their hearts, they can overcome any differences… I hope this can be so.

 

Translation notes

In this song, the singer reflects upon the relationship she had with her older boyfriend. For the most part, she reminisces how he looked and behaved with her. She also realises that it wasn’t the age gap between them that led them to break up, but rather it was “the emptiness within the heart”. I think “the emptiness within the heart” could refer to both the singer and the listener. The emptiness in the singer’s heart would represent her immaturity. The emptiness in the listener’s heart would represent something that the singer was not able to give, possibly because of her lack of maturity. An example could be someone in whom the listener could confide the stress he experienced at work.

On the subject of gaps between people, Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell’s Ain’t No Mountain High Enough is probably one of the best songs about not being daunted by any differences.

 

Simplified Chinese

穿惯的西装  困难的文件  拿着塞满这些的包包
点酒的方式  知道怎样的穿着适合自己  年长的他

稍微走在前面一点  你壮壮的手臂  像是挂在上面一样
垫起脚尖  穿得漂亮  就算如此还是跟不上  年长的他

无论何时  和冷静的你  连架都吵不成
不完全燃烧的状态  心情总是空转

终于我也  到了  和那时的你一样的年龄
无论过多久  都追不上  也追不过
那时的我  无法填补的
一定不是7岁的差距  而是空洞的心吧

就连你的生日都还记得  你对我来说
是特别的人  现在和过去都是  不会改变  年长的他

工作的疲劳  烦恼软弱  都不让我看见
躺在那边  在我的身边笑着  年长的他

若是见到你  我会不带迷惘地叫住你吗?
你会觉得我  稍微长大了点吗?

终于我也  到了  和那时的你一样的年龄
无论过多久  都追不上  也追不过
绝对比不上你  钱包知识经验都是
我比你强的  只有喜欢你的心意而已

终于我也  到了  和那时的你一样的年龄
无论过多久  都追不上  也追不过
那时的我  无论填补的
一定不是7岁的差距  而是空洞的心吧
我比你强的  只有喜欢你的心意而已

 

Self Liner Notes

年龄的差距有时候会有很好的效果、反之有时也会造成无法继续下去的原因、立场的不同、环境的不同、就算有各种差距、但如果能够真正内心相系的话、无论什么差距都能跨越…我希望能够这样。

One comment

Leave a comment

