Saigo no Koi

最後の恋 (Saigo no Koi) · 最后的恋爱 · The Last Love

In:
[Album] BIRTHDAY – track 6
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – CD1 track 14

 

English

Both of us were thinking “this is the last love”
Returning to being just friends was always considered a joke
It will soon be a year since then; I’ve become a little more mature
But the emptiness that appeared here is still unfilled

I’m always thinking “Why…”

The more I want to forget you
The more vividly I remember everything about you
The day we held hands for the first time, the day our hands parted for the last time
I want to see you one more time
If I had been able to tell you those words back then, would it change the present?

The photos we took together, the T-shirt you gave me
Their colours haven’t faded yet as it’s only been one year
I can’t face the loneliness, and when I get close to other people
I feel even emptier just because they are not you

I don’t mind even if it’s not love; you are all I want

The more I want to forget you
The more vividly I remember the days we spent together
The day when you called my name for the first time seems so long ago
I want to see you; I’m so lonely
If this is how painful it is
Then I wish the fact that I met you could be erased…

The more I want to forget you
The more vividly I remember everything about you
The day we held hands for the first time, the day our hands parted for the last time
Even if there is no possibility of seeing you again
I just want to tell you that I am very happy to have met you

 

Translation notes

The opening line makes me think that the singer and the listener were sure that they had found their true love because they considered it “the last love”. As such, I interpret this song as being similar to Sutaachisu (Statice) in that the lyrics are about the singer thinking about her deceased lover.

In Saigo no Koi, the singer is grieving because she wants her lover to be in her life but he is no longer there. In her grief, she wonders if anything could have changed their fate. She thinks that forgetting their shared memories will ease her pain. However, she finds that the memories will not vanish so easily. Eventually, she is able to accept that they will never meet again (at least in her current life) and remembers that their time together was happy for her.

In Sutaachisu, the singer has already accepted her new reality without her lover and finds joy in the love she had. It could be that the singer of Sutaachisu is the more mature version of the singer of Saigo no Koi. This is how I like to imagine it to be.

 

Simplified Chinese

这是最后的恋爱  我俩都是这样想着
回到朋友关系  一直觉得是开玩笑
从那之后  快一年了呢  稍微成熟了一点
但是这儿出现的空隙  依然还未填补

一直想着  为什么呢…

越是想忘了你  就更
会强烈地想起  你的所有
第一次牵起手的日子  最后放开手的日子
想见你  再一次
那时的我  若能说出这句话  现在会有所改变吗

我俩一起拍的照片  你给我的T恤
只是一年  是不会退色的
无法面对寂寞  而与其他人贴近
只因为那不是你这个理由  就更  空虚了

就算不是爱也好  只想要你

越是想忘了你  就更
会强烈地想起  我俩在一起的日子
第一次呼唤我名字那天  像是好久以前的事
想见你  好寂寞
若是如此痛苦
那么就连与你相遇的事  都能消去就好了…

越是想忘了你  就更
会强烈地想起  你的所有
第一次牵起手的日子  最后放开手的日子
就算无法  再见到你
与你相遇  还是让我好幸福  只想告诉你这件事

2 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    Oh wow, all this time I thought it was supposed to be a happy song. I guess I never bothered to re-analzye the lyrics after I started learning the language.

    All these breakup songs really make me wonder if Oku Hanako writes from experience. Hatsukoi / 初恋 (“first love”), released after BIRTHDAY, is similar in that it’s also about a breakup, but in that one the singer is a little more clingy.

    Like

Leave a comment

