Aishiteta

愛してた (Aishiteta) · 爱过你 · I Used to Love You

In:
[Album] good-bye – track 10

 

English

I always thought that the words “I love you” were unnecessary
It was enough to have you with me

I believed that something will never end if it didn’t have a beginning
I always believed that you could see the lamplight that only shines in through the window

I want to see you, but I can’t find the words to say it; I spend every day waiting for you
Who are you looking at now with that gaze which can tempt me to go anywhere?

If our meeting had happened earlier, would we have been different people?

I always thought that the words “I love you” were unnecessary
It was enough to have you with me
Hold me tight, I’m not as strong as you think

For me to be confused by love, to indulge in love, or to lose myself in love
The thought always seemed silly until the moment I touched you

I’m chasing true feelings that remain suppressed, although I can’t see them
I couldn’t possibly love you even more, yet I still do

Even if we had met earlier, wouldn’t we still be the same people?

I don’t need tomorrow; I need your unwavering gaze on me
Even if I am hurt, I want to protect you above all else

I hope you’ll say, “I used to love you”; let me have my way in the end
I thought that my tears had already dried up a long time ago
Hold me tight, at this moment I love you more than you can imagine

 

Self Liner Notes

When time and circumstances change, our desires will also change. Generally, when we want to talk, it’s not words that we want; it’s just a time when we want the other person to be beside us …

This song was first sung at the Band Live held in 2011, and the music arrangement at that performance was used for this album recording. It’s because of those band members that this music could be made. This is the kind of music I want to leave behind for people to hear.

 

Translation notes

My first impression was that this song was about a break up. I thought the singer was explaining that she was happy in the relationship despite never being told the words “I love you”. In the last verse, when the break up occurs, I thought that the singer wanted to hear the words “I used to love you” to be reassured that the relationship had also been important to the listener.

Later, my thoughts changed to see the song as being about the singer’s one-sided crush on the listener. The main line that changed my mind was “I believed that something will never end if it didn’t have a beginning” in the second verse. It points towards the singer and the listener never being officially in a romantic relationship. The singer’s desire to hear “I used to love you” in the end may be her hope that her crush had not been one-sided, even if it is one-sided now.

There are a couple of lines that I find quite interesting. The first is “the lamplight that only shines in through the window” in the second verse. I thought about the symbolism for a while, and came up with an image of someone staring inside through the window instead of coming in through the door. In the context of the song, I imagine it to mean that the singer believes that listener is aware of her crush on him even though she has never told him her feelings.

The second interesting line is “I thought that my tears had already dried up a long time ago” in the last verse. One interpretation may be that the singer had cried a lot over her one-sided crush and thought that she couldn’t cry any more. A happier interpretation may be that the singer was very happy (from being in a relationship or having a crush) and had no reason to cry for a long time.

 

Simplified Chinese

“我爱你”  这句话  一直觉得不需要
你现在  在这儿  这样就够了

相信若没有开始  就永远不会有结束
只有从窗外透进来的灯光  一直深信你看得见

想见你  但说不出口  我每天都等待着
那会将人  吸引到任何地方的眼眸  现在  凝视着谁?

若早点相遇的话  会是不同的我俩吗?

“我爱你”  这句话  一直觉得不需要
你现在  在这儿  这样就够了
紧抱我  我  还没有你想的  那么坚强

对爱迷惘  沉溺  失去自我
一直觉得这样很傻  到触碰你的  那个瞬间之前

追寻着  但又看不见  压抑着真正的心情
不能再  更喜欢你  但却做不到

就算早点相遇  我俩还是一样吗?

不需要明天  率直地只要看着我
就算受伤  只有你  无论如何都想守护

“爱过你”  希望你这么说  最后  让我任性一下
眼泪  还以为很久以前  就干枯了
紧抱我  现在  我比你想的  还要更喜欢你

 

Self Liner Notes

随着时间和状况的不同、想要的东西也会改变。总之就是想要讲话的时候、还有不需言语、只是想要对方在自己身边的时候…

这首歌在2011年举行的Band Live 上第一次演唱、就直接使用了那时的编曲进行收录。是因为这些成员才能作出的音乐。就是很想留下这样的声音。

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Sukidattanda | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English

Leave a comment

