Taisetsu na Mono

大切なもの (Taisetsu na Mono) · 珍贵的事物 · Precious Things

In:
[Album] Prism – track 9
[Single] Kimi ga Kureta Natsu – track 2

While searching for the unchanging things, do remember that the precious things are with you. One is for your relationship with yourself, the other with the love of your life.

Sorry for the delay in posting this translation. My life has been busy this month.

 

English

My precious things are always with me, starting with my trust in myself
If I make a person before me smile, I can connect with many rays of light

I lived each day not knowing who I wanted to become or what I wanted to do
When I had no enthusiasm
I couldn’t continue to work or love; I blamed it on other people
To desperately protect my weak self

The wind that blows across the street told me that the season had changed
I could not continue to live like this, so I tried taking a step forwards

My precious things are always with me, starting with my trust in myself
If I make a person before me smile, I can connect with many rays of light

Even if my plans come to naught, even if my regrets make me want to cry
I believe that I can continue working hard
Because I am not alone, because I have someone to scold me
Because I’m sure I can like myself even more

It isn’t pointless to have taken a detour
Nothing will change by waiting in place
Because that won’t lead to progress

My precious things are always with me; I can cross many streams of tears
I always trust my heart to decide the name of happiness

1There’s nothing for me to fear even if I am lost or facing hardship
Beyond the tunnel that I am passing through
Scenery more beautiful than anything I’ve seen before is waiting

If I notice small joys every day, each day will be more enjoyable than the last
I won’t forget that there will be a path only for me and no one else to walk

My precious things are always with me, starting with my trust in myself
If I make a person before me smile, I can connect with many rays of light

 

Translation notes

When I started translating this song, I thought that the singer was singing about her own experiences. Then I reached the eighth verse (marked with 1), where the verse starts with “ねぇ (nē)”, which can be used at the start of a sentence as an interjection to get somebody’s attention, e.g. “hey”. The Chinese translation starts that line with “别”, which shows that the phrase it is part of is a negative imperative.

This gave me the impression that the singer was addressing the listener here. It made me reconsider whether the rest of the song also addressed the listener. However, I believe that the earlier verses are about the singer’s own experiences because the “told me” in the third verse is “教えてくれる (oshietekureru)”. It is the base verb 教える (oshieru), meaning “to teach” or “to inform”, modified with くれる (kureru), which modifies the direction of the verb to be towards the speaker. Similarly, the “scold me” in the fifth verse is “叱ってくれる (shikattekureru)”.

Next, I considered having the first part of the song about the singer and the second part directed at the listener. But I wasn’t comfortable with how the change appeared, so I decided to make the whole song about the singer. In the end, though, perhaps who the song is about doesn’t really matter in this case.

 

Simplified Chinese

珍贵的事物  一直在身边喔  从相信自己开始
若能让眼前的人绽放笑容  便可与无数光芒相系

想成为谁  想做的事  在浑浑噩噩中度过每一天
没有热衷的事物  在那时候
打工与恋爱皆无法长久  总认为是别人的错
死守着脆弱的自己

切过街道的风  告知季节的改变
不能一直就这样下去  试着踏出第一步吧

珍贵的事物  一直在身边喔  从相信自己开始
若能让眼前的人绽放笑容  便可与无数光芒相系

即使事与愿违  即使后悔想哭
觉得自己还可以继续努力
因为我不是一个人  因为有指责我的人
一定会变得更加喜欢自己

不论绕了怎样的远路  也不会白费
只是守株待兔的话  什么都不会改变
是不可能前进的

珍贵的事物  一直在身边喔  跨越无数的泪水
决定幸福之名的是  一直相信着自己的心

别再害怕  就算迷惘困苦时刻到来
穿越那隧道后的前方
会有比现在更美丽  从未见过的风景等待着你

若能察觉每日的小幸福  比起今天会更加喜欢明天吧
请不要忘记  一定会有与他人无关只属于自己的道路

珍贵的事物  一直在身边喔  从相信自己开始
若能让眼前的人绽放笑容  便可与无数光芒相系

Leave a comment

