Genki de Itene

元気でいてね (Genki de Itene) · 要好好的过喔 · Stay Well

In:
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – CD 2 track 14
[Album] Utakata – track 13
[Album] Kimi no Egao -Smile Selection- – track 7

 

English

This is wrong! Who decided this?
A round object might look rectangular from another point of view
It is very simple to follow someone else
Because I can lose my way on a path I choose for myself

How many times have I muttered that I can’t go on?
There were nights when the coming of the next day terrified me, and there were days when I cried

I hope I’ll see you again, we will surely meet again
I want to gaze at the landscape while climbing up a slope illuminated by the evening sun
I wish I can say that I like myself with my chest puffed out
I will try to do my best until we meet again

After polishing my dirty lenses
The world looks a little brighter

Many people have many things to say
Rather than regret doing nothing, I want to take a step forwards

I hope I’ll see you again, we will surely meet again
I want to take a good look at the stars spread across the night sky with my own eyes
I wish my heart will always be filled with happiness
Whatever the day may bring, the nastier it is, the harder I’ll try to smile

Stay well until the day we can meet again with smiles on our faces
I’ll squeeze a wonderful life into my limited days
I hope I’ll see you again, I wish I can sing forever
I won’t give up and I’ll try to do my best; stay well until we meet again

 

Translation notes

The lyrics are clearly about inspiration, but it is difficult for me to be certain who it is directed at because the Japanese lyrics and the Chinese translation use almost no pronouns. The only lines with pronouns in the Japanese lyrics are the first lines of the 3rd and 6th verses, and the third line of the 7th verse, where the singer says that she wants to meet “you”. In addition to those, the Chinese uses “I” in the last lines of the 3rd and 5th verses. Other lines in Japanese may contain words that show perspective, such as how あげる (ageru) and くれる (kureru) are about giving and receiving from different perspectives, but if so I am not aware of them.

My impression is that the singer wants to try becoming a stronger person and she is describing her goal to the listener. My feeling is that the singer plans to go on a journey to achieve this growth, which is why she is wishing the listener to stay well until they meet again upon her return. I have much greater appreciation of this song since I learned the meaning of its lyrics.

 

Simplified Chinese

这是错的!是谁决定的?
圆的东西换个角度  可能看起来像四方的
跟着谁的后面走  很简单
因为是自己选择的道路  才会迷惘嘛

已经不行了  碎念过几次了
也有对于明天将到  而感到害怕的夜  哭泣的日子

希望能再见到你  一定能再相见
爬上夕阳下的坡道看着景色
希望能挺起胸  说着喜欢自己
在下次再相见前  我会试着加油

将脏掉的镜片擦干净
这世界也看起来比较明亮

许多人说着许多事
与其什么都不做而后悔  我想踏出那一步

希望能再见到你  一定能再相见
在夜空中绽放的星儿们  想用这双眼好好看着
希望能在心中  总是感到幸福
无论是怎样的日子  越是不行的日子  越要试着去笑

到能再以笑容相见那天  要好好的过喔
将美好的人生  塞进有限的日子里
希望能再与你相见  希望能永远歌唱
不放弃  会试着努力  到下次相见前要好好的过喔

6 comments

  1. Denny Sinnoh

    Re: “My impression is that the singer wants to try becoming a stronger person and she is describing her goal to the listener”
    Yes, I think that you nailed the feeling of the song.
    “Merry Christmas EVERYONE!”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Genki de Itene — Oku Hanako – Chinese to English | Denny Sinnoh
  3. Pingback: Genki de Ite ne / 元気でいてね | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

Leave a comment

