Kimi ga Kureta Natsu

君がくれた夏 (Kimi ga Kureta Natsu) · 你给予我的夏天 · The Summer You Gave Me

In:
[Album] Prism – track 11
[Single] Kimi ga Kureta Natsu – track 1

In late October 2015, Oku Hanako released a new album named Prism. In early January 2016, I learned that the album was about to be released in Taiwan and Hong Kong. Just before Chinese New Year (8 February), I received my copy of the album in the mail.

My first translation for Prism is Kimi ga Kureta Natsu, which I can only attribute to because I’ve been able to listen to it multiple times and fall in love with it before the album released. Songs in Prism that I quickly came to like are the second track スターチス (Sutaachisu), eighth track 雨のプリズム (Ame no Purizumu), ninth track 大切なもの (Taisetsu na Mono), and thirteenth track ガンバレ (Ganbare), so translations for these songs will come sooner rather than later. I also like the tune of the twelfth track 花火 (Hanabi) when it gets pass the opening notes and the singing starts, but it has already been translated by Sashimeii on Thoughts of Oku Hanako so I’ll be leaving it for the distant later.

 

English

I chase the change of seasons
Because I want to meet you when you were Sakura-coloured1

I was born in this town; I grew up in this place
And then, because I met you
Perhaps this was how the word “fate”
Appeared in my thoughts for the first time

The evening summer sun shone upon the side of your face
It was too dazzling to look at you clearly
Reaching out with two hands as if to gently touch you
I thought of doing so several times

Riding my bike with you after school
I felt like the road we were following could have taken us anywhere

I won’t forget the memories that will be here2
They are the awkward feeling of gentleness and the look of your smile
Everyone shouted “thank you” together
That time of youth3

An ordinary place turned into a special place
All of this was your doing
The vast sports field and even the vineyard that we had tired of seeing
They seemed to be shining with light from that day onwards

The fireworks that we watched while standing shoulder to shoulder beside the riverbank
It felt like they were talking about our future

What you gave me won’t end4
It’s this feeling of liking someone
That summer when we shouted “we will meet again”
It was an eternal summer

I won’t forget the memories that will be here5
They are the sound of laughter, the tears of regret, and the way you looked
The summer day when we shouted “thank you”6
I will never forget the memories you gave me5
They are the clear blue sky and the hot August sun
We will meet again, we smiled while saying goodbye
We waited until tomorrow came

 

Translation notes

1. To my knowledge, Sakura can be associated with spring since most of the blooming occurs around spring. The character “春 (haru)” has several meanings, one of which is “spring” and another is “adolescence”. So my belief is that “when you were Sakura-coloured” means “when you were a young teenager”. Do you have a different figurative interpretation of being “Sakura-coloured”? Do leave a comment and share if you have one.

2. This line is missing its object in the Chinese translation. The line translates as “I won’t forget [the object] that will remain here”. The missing object is in the next line due to how Chinese grammar works (As Wikipedia says: “modifiers precede the words they modify”). The content of the verse after this line can be categorised as “memories”, so that is what I substituted for “the object”. Then I added “They are” to the next line to link “memories” with “the awkward feeling of gentleness and the look of your smile”.

3. In Japanese, “青 (ao)” means “blue” (I’ve also seen it translated as azure) and “春 (haru)” means “spring”. When put together, “青春 (seishun)” means “youth”. I think that the use of “青い春 (aoi haru)” in the Japanese lyrics is a reference to this. The Chinese translation uses “蓝色青春”, which literally means “blue youth”. I decided to drop the word “blue” because it can imply “sad” or “feeling blue”, and I think that is not the correct emotion here. Other possible meanings of “青い春 (aoi haru)” are “teenage years” or “fresh start” (see comment below).

4. This line is also missing its object, similar to verse 5 and as discussed in note 2. The line translates as “[The object] you gave me won’t end”.

5. I made a similar modification to the two lines here as discussed in note 2.

6. At the end of this line is the word “forever” that seems to be dangling on its own if the line is translated in isolation. If the next line is considered, the “forever” is describing the “not forgetting”. To say “something is forever” in Chinese requires putting “forever” before the “something” because of how sentence structure works, e.g. “love Oku Hanako forever” is “永远爱奥花子”, where “永远” means “forever”, “爱” means “love”, and “奥花子” means “奥華子 (Oku Hanako)”. That is why my translation starts the verse with “I won’t forget” and uses “I will never forget” here.

 

Simplified Chinese

追赶着季节的变化
想与樱花色的你相见

出生在这条街 在这里长大
而因为遇见了你
“命运”这个字 或许 就是这样
第一次 浮现在我脑海中

夏天的夕阳 映照你的侧脸
太耀眼而无法看清
两手轻轻地 像要碰触到一般
我好几次 想要这么做

放学后 骑着脚踏车和你一起走
这条路 感觉可以通往任何地方

我不会忘记 会在这里的
笨拙的温柔 还有你的笑容
大家一起呼喊的 谢谢
蓝色青春时光

让不起眼的地方 变得特别
全部都是 你造成的吧
宽阔的操场 还有看腻的葡萄园
从那天起 都显得闪闪发光

河堤旁 一起并肩看的烟火
感觉好像在诉说 关于我们的未来

不会结束喔 你所给予我的
如此 喜欢一个人的心情
呼喊着下次再见的 那个夏天
永远的夏天

我不会忘记 会在这里的
欢笑声 后悔的泪水 你的身影
呼喊着谢谢的 夏天 永远
不会忘记喔 你所给予我的
蓝色青空 8月的炎热太阳
还会再次相见喔 带着笑容说再见
等到了明天

5 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    I have to get my songs straight: for some reason, I thought that this was Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 and was expecting unrequited love being likened to fireworks. That’s what I get for reading this just moments after a nap. Anyway…

    Nice work with the translation. It’s understanding the nuances in both languages and not translating such phrases literally that makes your translations good ones.

    Addressing “sakura iro”, I’ve noticed “x-iro” (e.g. natsu iro / 夏色 [“summer colour”], yume iro / 夢色 [“dream colour”]) being used a lot in songs, probably because iro / 色 can be used to indicate a metaphorical colour. I wouldn’t discount using the literal translation of having a cherry blossom pink complexion (“rosy cheeks”, of sorts) since the Japanese says 桜色の君に会いたい (“I want to meet the sakura-coloured you”), but I also wouldn’t discount it being figurative because she tends to do that. Taking it into the context of the movie where this is the theme song (I haven’t seen it yet, but it’s on my list of things to watch), we assume the singer and her crush are in their second year of high school, roughly age 17.
    The Japanese Wikipedia entry for the colour also suggests another meaning, although I find this one somewhat unlikely: happy. Sharp Corporation apparently found that cherry blossom pink makes people happy and uses that in marketing LEDs of that colour.
    To add an interpretation of my own, given that it’s the end of summer and they have to part, it could be that she wants to meet the guy from spring so they can do it all over again.

    For aoi haru / 青い春, there’s a film by Toyoda Toshiaki that goes by that name. To quote the Wikipedia article, “The film title can be understood as ‘inexperienced years’ or teenage years, but it also can be understood as ‘fresh start’. According to manga artist Taiyō Matsumoto, the title is intended as a play on irony.”

    Good call with the dangling 永遠に. While you could interpret it as shouting “thank you” forever given the flexible phrase order in Japanese, I think it works a lot better if it’s taken as an extension of the next line. That the phrase is on a separate line in the lyrics supports this. I love this transition, by the way.

    As for Prism, Statice / スターチス and Ame no Prism / 雨のプリズム are both up there for me, but my favourite from the album’s new songs is Sukidattanda / 好きだったんだ.

    Like

    • Edward

      Thanks a lot for your contribution, tPenguinLTG!

      It didn’t occur to me to consider being “Sakura-coloured” literally along the lines of being “rosy-cheeked”. Your interpretation that the singer wants to return to spring to repeat her summer experiences with the guy she met makes me think of Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo because of the time travelling and because of Oku Hanako. I almost want this to be the meaning just because of that connection.

      I came across the Wikipedia page for 青い春 (Aoi Haru) while writing my translation notes, but I somehow missed the part at the top of the page that you quoted. It’s very relevant, so thank you for bringing it up. I was thinking of mentioning the manga アオハライド (Ao Haru Ride), but didn’t because the title is written in hiragana instead of kanji and is missing the い.

      Did you notice that the title of the movie Ashita ni Nareba is also the last line of Kimi ga Kureta Natsu? The literal translation of the title (“If tomorrow comes”) doesn’t match with the Chinese translation 等到了明天, which literally means “waited until tomorrow”. Maybe the Chinese translation picked up the figurative meaning, if there is one, or maybe it’s wrong.

      Like

      • tPenguinLTG

        I did notice that and I loved it when I first heard it; I thought it was very clever. I can’t comment on the validity of the Chinese translation. I’d have to think about it, because although it seems wrong at first, it might be on to something.

        Also, アオハルライド is katakana, and you can tell it apart from hiragana by how angular it is. I should really get around to doing that post on kana…

        Like

      • Edward

        And that makes two misses for me from two attempts to identify katakana. Maybe I should just refer to hiragana and katakana as kana. Or put in some time to learn to properly tell them apart.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Sotsugyou no Toki | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English

Leave a comment

