Toranpu

トランプ (Toranpu) · 扑克牌 · Playing Cards

In:
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – disc 1 track 8
[Album] Utakata – track 6
[Single] Garasu no Hana – track 2
[Single] Cinderella – track 4

The Japanese name “トランプ (Toranpu)” is the loan word for “trump”, as in trump card. The Chinese name “扑克牌” is made up of the loan word “扑克 (pu1 ke4)” for “poker” and “牌” which means “card”.

 

English

The moonlight seems to be spying on you and me from the corner of the window1
In the silent room, the fridge emits a low and soft hum

Suddenly, you wake up in bed and say “Let’s play cards”
“If you can’t sleep then watch TV”, I reply while leaning against the wall with my back towards you2

What are you looking at? What are you thinking about? Is it to be by my side?
You should recall the time we went to sleep without even kissing good night3

You said only I would get to see your crying face and other strange faces
I was an idiot to believe those words; from the start you did not have me in your heart

Just as there is someone you cannot forget, I cannot forget you
Let’s play cards; if it is as I am now, my hand will have a joker that can be anything

Who are you looking at? Who are you thinking about? Do you want to be by my side?
Until morning arrives, I hope you pretend to not know that you are sleeping by my side

What are you looking at? What are you thinking about? Is it to be by my side?
You should recall the time we went to sleep without even kissing good night3
We went to sleep …

On the other side of the window, the moonlight turns its back on my room

 

Translation notes

1. There is a mistake in the Chinese translation. The Japanese lyrics use “窓の隅で (mado no sumi de)”, which roughly means “at the corner of the window”. The Chinese translation uses “在房间角落”, which means “in the corner of the room”. The Chinese character “窗”, which means “window”, should have been used instead of “房间”. It is a bit strange that the Chinese translation is correct when the reference to moonlight at the window is repeated in the last verse.

2. In the Chinese translation, “我靠向墙壁” literally means “I lean against wall”, and “背对着你” literally means “back facing you”. As far as I can tell, the Japanese lyrics contain “back” but not “facing you”. So I wonder if the line ought to be “‘If you can’t sleep then watch TV’, I reply while leaning my back against the wall”.

3. I didn’t notice anything in the Japanese lyrics or the Chinese translation that clearly indicates whether this line is directed at the listener or the singer. I think the line is directed at the listener because the singer intends to end the relationship. This is evident from the singer believing that the listener thinks she is unimportant (see verse 4). Although the singer says that she won’t forget the listener (see verse 5), and this may imply that the singer likes the listener, I believe that the “joker that can be anything” in her hand means that she is willing to break up the relationship if she wants.

I did consider the line being directed at the singer. In this scenario, the line would appear to be the singer reminding herself that the relationship is deteriorating. Then the question “Is it to be by my side?” in the previous line would appear as the singer’s hope that the listener wants to be with her. This contrasts with the singer’s belief that the listener thinks she is unimportant (see verse 4), so I decided this was not the correct interpretation.

 

Simplified Chinese

月光 在房间角落 像是窥探着你与我
沉静的房间中 冰箱的声音 低沉轻轻地响着

你突然从床上起身 说着来玩扑克牌吧
睡不着就看看电视吧 我靠向墙壁背对着你

你看着什么 想着什么 而在我身旁的呢
回想起那时的我们 连接吻都没有 就沉睡了呢

哭泣的脸 鬼脸 你说只会让我看见的
相信那句话 真是个笨蛋 从一开始在你心中 就没有我

就像你忘不了某人一般 我也忘不了你
来玩扑克牌吧 若是现在的我 手上有可以自由变换的鬼牌喔

你看着谁 想着谁 而想在我身边呢
到早晨来临前 希望你装作不知道 在我身边 沉睡

你看着什么 想着什么 而在我身旁的呢
回想起那时的我们 连接吻都没有 就沉睡了呢
就沉睡了呢···

月光 在窗的那端 背对着我的房间

One comment

  1. Pingback: Trump / トランプ | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

Leave a comment

