Shiwakucha

しわくちゃ (Shiwakucha) · 满是皱纹 · Wrinkled

In:
[Album] Kimi to Boku no Michi – track 10

The title of this song, しわくちゃ (Shiwakucha) – Wrinkled – or “Covered in Wrinkles” as the Chinese translation means literally, suggests that the song might be a reflective piece similar to 足跡 (Ashiato) – Footsteps. However, the music is cheerful, unlike the serene mood in by Ashiato.

The aspect of this song that really caught my attention was how syllables are quickly sung in the second and fifth verses, in contrast to being drawn out in parts of other verses. I would like to hear Oku Hanako perform a hikigatari version of Shiwakucha because I get the feeling that it would sound more earnest. I still like the current version as it is, though.

I’m going to take a break until around mid to late January. The translation work has been fun and it has been rewarding to learn and share what the lyrics mean. I’m looking forward to hearing about a Taiwan release of Oku Hanako’s latest album Prism, but so far news has been quiet on that front. It’s not too surprising because I expect a delay between the release in Japan and the release in Taiwan.

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

 

English

I want to be with you until we are wrinkled, however many years may pass
A world with you is so wonderful

We met unexpectedly; my heart was beating so hard it could have been heard
“This is my soulmate”, that was what I thought from the start
Our speech tempo1 and our interests matched, even our taste in food was the same
Every time we met, my love for you grew until it could not grow any more

Yes, you are like a soft sofa2 that tenderly wraps around me
Yes, you are like a cheerful TV3 that makes me laugh
As I thought, there is only one person for me, it is you

I want to be with you until we are wrinkled, however many years may pass
A world with you is so wonderful
I want us to be together until we are wrinkled, however many years may pass
The world we see together has so much joy

We started living together and saw sides of each other that we never saw before
Heartbeats slowed down4, nostalgia was felt for solitude
Our hearts were uneasy whenever we argued over petty matters
We would say “I want to be alone”, but in the end we would still go to sleep together

Yes, it’s like laundry that will be dry by the next day
Yes, it’s like a stove5 that can be used for heating many times
As I thought, there is only one person for me, it is you

I want to smile6 until I am wrinkled, however many years may pass
A world where we can talk to each other is so wonderful
I want to be by your side until we are wrinkled, however many years may pass
A world with you is so beautiful

I want to be with you until we are wrinkled, however many years may pass
A world with you is so wonderful
I want us to be together until we are wrinkled, however many years may pass
The world we see together is so wonderful

 

Translation notes

1. On a side note, the way a person speaks can be referred to as prosody and one of its parts is tempo. I used “speech tempo” in my translation because the Japanese lyrics use “話のテンポ (hanashi no tenpo)”. It contains the loan word “テンポ (tenpo)” for “tempo”.

2. This seems like a strange simile to me because I don’t associate sofas with wrapping things or people, but “sofa” is the word to use. The Japanese lyrics use “柔らかいソファみたいに (yawarakai sofa mitai ni)”, which contains the loan word “ソファ (sofa)” for “sofa”. I imagine this is one of those really soft sofas that, when you sit on it, you sink into it until you are sitting in it.

3. Yes, I mean to use the description “a cheerful TV”, not “a cheerful TV show”. The Japanese lyrics use “明るいテレビみたいに (akarui terebi mitai ni)”. It has the loan word “テレビ (terebi)” for “television”. Perhaps that can be used informally in Japanese to mean “TV show”, just as in English “going to watch TV” means “going to watch a TV show” and not to stare at the television. I bring this up because I remember one of my Chinese teachers stressing a difference between “看电视” (looking at the television set) and “看电视节目” (watching a television show). It may be that I had a pedantic teacher. The Japanese phrase for “TV show” is “テレビ番組 (terebi bangumi)”. That aside, I can imagine that “a cheerful TV” is a TV, or maybe a TV channel, with cheerful shows one after another. So I think the description is still appropriate if a little awkward.

4. The Japanese lyrics use “トキメキは安らぎに変わって (tokimeki wa yasuragi ni kawatte)”. “トキメキ (tokimeki)” means either “excitement” or “heartbeat”, “安らぎ (yasuragi)” means “peacefulness” or “tranquillity”, and “変わって (kawatte)” means that something changes or changed into something else. The Chinese translation says that heartbeats (心跳) became calm (安心). At first, I thought to use “Excitement became peacefulness”, but the word “peacefulness” felt out of place when the next line referred to an argument. So I went with using tokimeki to mean “heartbeat”.

5. Just to note, the Japanese lyrics use “レンジで温めたみたい (renji de atatame ta mitai)”. “レンジ (renji)” is the loan word for “range”, as in a kitchen range or stove. The Chinese translation uses “微波”, which means “microwave”, as in short for microwave oven. The Chinese translation may be that way because the Japanese phrase for “microwave oven” is “電子レンジ (denshi renji)”. The Chinese character for stove is “炉”.

6. The Chinese translation for this line has an obvious mistake in it, unfortunately. Here, the Chinese translation repeats the first line from the first verse. By listening, you can hear that the first line from the first verse starts with “あなたといたい (anata to itai)” – “I want to be with you” – whereas this line starts with “笑っていたい (waratte itai)” – “I want to smile”. The lines are the same except for the first part of each line, so I guess the Chinese translator did a copy and paste job that was not picked up by quality assurance. For my translation I have followed the Japanese lyrics.

 

Simplified Chinese

想和你在一起 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
有你的世界 是多么的美好

相遇是突然的 好像能听到 我胸口高涨的鼓动
“这是我命中注定的人”从一开始就这么想
讲话的节奏 兴趣都相合 食物的喜好 也一样
每次见面 就更喜欢你 到不能再更喜欢的程度

是 就像柔软的沙发一样 温柔地包围我
是 就像开朗的电视一样 让我大笑
果然 只有一个人 只有你

想和你在一起 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
有你的世界 是多么的美好
想要我俩在一起 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
我俩一起看的世界 会有多么欢乐

2个人开始一起住 看到了以往看不到的一面
心跳变成了安心 有点怀念寂寞
彼此的心都不轻松 总是为了小事吵架时
说着想要一个人 最后还是一起睡了

是 就像洗好的衣服 到了隔天 都会晒干
是 就像微波加热一般 几次都行
果然 只有一个人 只有你

想和你在一起 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
可以畅谈的世界 是多么的美好
想在你身边 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
有你的世界 是多么美丽

想和你在一起 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
有你的世界 是多么的美好
想要我俩在一起 到满是皱纹 不管过几年
我俩一起看的世界 是多么的美好

One comment

  1. Pingback: Shiwakucha / しわくちゃ | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

Leave a comment

