TAKOYAKI

TAKOYAKI · 章鱼烤 · Fried Octopus Ball

In:
[Album] good-bye – track 8

TAKOYAKI was low on my translation list, but my interest to translate it was piqued when tPenguinLTG made a post about a tweet by Oku Hanako about a CD, a recording session, and a list of songs. One of the songs on the list was TAKOYAKI. Judging from the title taken from the name of a food, the cheery, light-hearted tune, and the fact that some of the songs in the good-bye album are not love songs, I thought TAKOYAKI was not a love song. I thought it was a song about liking takoyaki and what is great about them. Is this what the lyrics for TAKOYAKI say? I invite you to read my translation and find out.

 

English

I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
I want to eat takoyaki; make it with pride

“Today I will be working late again”, you said on the telephone
Lately, we don’t even have time to have proper conversations
It was for our sake that I started working
But it meaningless, we seem to just go past each other all the time

Cleaning, laundry, cooking, everything … you don’t do any of it
Occasionally you bring out the takoyaki pan and meticulously make takoyaki for me
That makes me really happy

I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
I want to eat takoyaki; make it with pride

For our next holiday, I want us to go out together
To buy a new tablecloth

Immediately after saying “I’m home”, you opened a can of beer
You left your clothes in a mess after stripping them off; I followed you to pick them up
Living every day like this might be okay

I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
As I say things like “Another one1! Delicious!”
I want to eat takoyaki; you will make it for me
I want to eat takoyaki; make it with pride

 

Self Liner Notes

I was passing a takoyaki shop when I suddenly smelled a delicious aroma. “I really want to eat takoyaki ~♪” Humming about this to myself, before I knew it I had completed a whole song. I never thought it would be included in this album (smile). This is a very sincere song, the arrangement is very simple, and I like it very much.

 

Translation notes

TAKOYAKI appears to me as a song with a title that suggests a mundane event but with lyrics that say how the event is important to the singer as a moment to be pampered in between the less appealing aspects of a relationship. This may be contrasted with Futari Kinenbi (Our Anniversary), which has a title that suggests an important event but the lyrics describe the singer’s general happiness of being in a good relationship.

1. The Japanese lyrics contain “いまいち (imaichi)”, which has the colloquial meaning “one more; another; the other” when written in katakana (as it is in the lyrics) (My mistake here. See comment by tPenguinLTG below). It is also used to mean “not quite; not very good; lacking”. The Chinese translation uses “还好”, which would mean “not bad” in this context. My guess is that the Chinese translation attempted to put “not very good” in a positive light. As the song suggests that the singer loves the takoyaki that the listener makes, I doubt that the singer would say something like “not bad”, so I used “another one” in my translation.

 

Simplified Chinese

想吃章鱼烤 你会做给我吃
想吃章鱼烤 带着自傲制作

今天也会工作到很晚 你在电话里这么说
最近 连好好说话的时间都没有
我 是为了我俩 才开始工作的
好像一直擦身而过 没有意义呢

打扫 洗衣 做饭 全部··· 你都不会做
偶尔 会拿出章鱼烤机 讲究地做给我吃
这样 让我好开心

想吃章鱼烤 你会做给我吃
想吃章鱼烤 带着自傲制作

下次休假 想要两个人出去玩
去买 新的桌布吧

说完我回来了之后 你马上就开了罐装啤酒
身上衣服脱了就乱丢 我跟在后面捡
这样的每天 也不错呢

想吃章鱼烤 你会做给我吃
还好耶 好吃喔 说着各种感想
想吃章鱼烤 你会做给我吃
想吃章鱼烤 带着自傲制作

 

Self Liner Notes

经过章鱼烤店前,突然闻到很香的味道“好想吃章鱼烤~♪”一个人哼起了这样的歌曲,不知不觉就做完了一整首歌。没想到竟然会收进专辑里(笑)很纯真的一首歌,编曲也很简单,我很喜欢。

7 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    I’m a little confused about stanza two. The first line says ” ‘Today I will be working late again’, you said on the telephone”, but the third line says “It was for our sake that I started working”. I checked the Japanese and it works out to be the same, but it doesn’t connect for me. Shouldn’t it make more sense to say “It was for our sake that you started working”, given the first line?

    As for imaichi / いまいち, I would also translate it as “another one” or “one more”, given the context. By the way, いまいち is in hiragana, not katakana. The answer refers to katakana because katakana is often used to give the pronunciation of a word. Using katakana gives it a more unusual feel because it’s most often used for loanwords and onomatopoea. “Imaichi” in katakana would be イマイチ.

    Takoyaki is delicious. I want some now.

    Like

    • Edward

      For stanza two, I believe that the third line is referring to the singer. As I see it, when this loving couple started living together, they decided that the listener would work while the singer would take care of the home. However, the listener’s base pay was low and their living expenses were high, so the listener had to work long hours. Dissatisfied with the lack of time to spend together, the singer decided to work too so that the listener could work shorter hours. Unfortunately, the listener continued to work long hours.

      Thanks for correcting my mistake about the kana used for imaichi.

      Like

      • tPenguinLTG

        Dissatisfied with the lack of time to spend together, the singer decided to work too so that the listener could work shorter hours.

        Ah, makes much more sense now. I figured it really was the singer working also, but I couldn’t figure out why or why it was significant in that context. Thanks!

        Like

  2. Pingback: Taimu Kaado | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English
  3. Pingback: Translation for TAKOYAKI | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  4. Pingback: TAKOYAKI | Thoughts on Oku Hanako
  5. Pingback: Aisukuriimu | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English

Leave a comment

