Mahou no Hito

魔法の人 (Mahou no Hito) · 魔法之人 · Magical Person

In:
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – disc 1 track 2
[Album] Yasashii Hana no Saku Basho – track 2
[Single] Mahou no Hito – track 1

 

English

Even if I were a cry-baby or selfish, you would say I’m fine the way I am
Before I met you, the sky I saw was always without colour

You waved your hand over me while holding magical stardust

I fell in love with you, and you fell in love with me
Our miraculous meeting changed everything
Even if it is not said, the heart can understand
Don’t release me from your embrace

The more I like you, the more I am hurt by worrying about you1, 2
Each time I feel happy, I become more timid

I cried myself to sleep so you caused magical rain to fall for me

I fell in love with you, and you fell in love with me
Overflowing with such beautiful things
I never knew that was the real colour of the sky
I’m the only one you have told

Whether it is the future I take a step towards or the past I want to forget
It can be changed if I am considerate

You were smiling so I also smiled
I am truly thankful for our miraculous meeting3
I no longer fear the road I will walk from now on
Because you are hugging me in your magical arms

If I smile, you will also smile
The present moment cannot be replaced

 

Translation notes

1. In the first part of this line, the Chinese translation uses “越是喜欢你”, which means “the more I like you”. The Japanese lyrics use “あなたのこと思うほど (anata no koto omou hodo)”. The meaning of 思う (omou) is along the lines of “to think”, so the Japanese lyrics should mean “the more I think about you”. I would have expected the Chinese translation to be “越想着你” in this case.
I completely missed the description that one of the possible meanings of 思う is love or affection. So the Chinese translation is probably right.

2. In the second part of this line, the Chinese translation uses “你” to clearly state that the one who worries and gets hurt is “you”. In contrast, it appears to me that the Japanese lyrics do not clearly state who it is. For once, I disagree with the Chinese translation. I think it is more logical that the singer feels more hurt because the act of thinking more about the listener means that the singer cares more about the listener. The more the singer cares, the more a worrying thought about the listener will hurt the singer.

3. In the second part of this line, the Chinese translation uses “让我打从心底感谢着”, which means “I am thankful from the bottom of my heart”. The Japanese lyrics use “本当にありがとう (hontou ni arigatou)”, which I’m certain means “truly thankful”. I would have expected the Chinese translation to be “让我正真的感谢着” to say the same. If I saw an English translation say “from the bottom of my heart” then I would expect the Japanese text to contain “心から (kokorokara)”. Incidentally, the first line of Futari Kinenbi (which I translated just before this one) contains “今 心からそう思えるよ (ima kokorokara sou omoeru yo)”. This was translated to Chinese as “现在 打从心底这么想”, and I translated it as “this is what I believe from the bottom of my heart”.

 

Simplified Chinese

即使是爱哭鬼或是任性 你都说这样就好
在与你相遇前 我总是眺望着没有色彩的天空

手中紧握着魔法的星星碎片 对着我挥舞了对吧

喜欢上你 你也喜欢上我
这奇迹般地相遇 改变了一切
即使不说出口 也能用心体会
不要再放开这双紧拥的手

越是喜欢你 就越让你困扰伤害了你
每当感受到幸福 就会变的更胆怯吧

为了哭累而睡着的我 你降下了魔法的雨滴

喜欢上你 你也喜欢上我
满溢着如此美丽的事物
一直都不知道 真正的天空彩色
你告诉了我一个人呢

无论是跨出脚步的未来 或是想忘记的过去
用替人着想的心情就能改变

因为你笑着 所以我也笑了
这奇迹般的相遇 让我打从心底感谢着
不再惧怕今后要走的道路
因为你用那双魔法的手臂拥抱着我

如果我笑的话 你也会笑着
无可取代的时光 就是此刻

Leave a comment

