Futari Kinenbi

二人記念日 (Futari Kinenbi) · 二人纪念日 · Our Anniversary

In:
[Album] Oku Hanako BEST -My Letters- – disc 2 track 8
[Album] good-bye – track 3

 

English

I’m glad I love you, I’m glad I met you; this is what I believe from the bottom of my heart
I want to walk with you, I can’t walk without you; I want you smiling by my side forever

Thank you for listening to me, thank you for not laughing at what I say
It’s incredible that if I just stand before you then I can be honest

Although not everything I do is meaningful, the person I want to protect is you
Even if calendar pages are torn away, it won’t change our serious anger and quarrels

I’m glad I love you, I’m glad I met you; this is what I believe from the bottom of my heart
I want to walk with you, I can’t walk without you; I want you smiling by my side forever

It’s not like me to give you a bouquet on our anniversary, you said while blushing
The look on your face as you arranged it in a vase is one I want to always see by my side

The things I don’t have, you can give to me; the things you don’t have, I can give to you
The things we both don’t have, together we can search for them little by little every day from now on

I’m happy you are alive, I’m happy I’m living with you; this is what I am musing in my heart
It doesn’t matter if it’s embarrassing, it’s fine to cry when wanting to1; I’m always thinking of you

However anxious you feel about the future that you cannot see
We’ll be fine as long as we are together; I can’t explain why, but that is how I feel

I’m glad I love you, I’m glad I met you; I never told you before because I was shy
I want to walk with you, I can’t walk without you; I want you smiling by my side forever

I’m happy you are alive, I’m happy I’m living with you; now, I am musing this in my heart
I want to walk with you, I can’t walk without you; I want you smiling by my side forever

 

Self Liner Notes

Although there are many anniversaries, the daily ordinary life of two people should be considered special and not be taken for granted. The time that two people can spend together is irreplaceable. Unusually, I wrote a happy song (smile).

 

Translation notes

1. The lyrics and the Chinese translation are not explicit about for whom it is OK to cry when he or she wants to. This line could be about comforting the listener (You can cry if you want to but don’t worry because you are always on my mind), or it could be a declaration by the singer (I’m always thinking about you so if you aren’t there when I want you there then I’ll cry as much as I want). Neither option appeared to me to fit better than the other, so I decided to make my translation ambiguous too.

 

Simplified Chinese

喜欢上你太好了 能遇见你太好了 现在 打从心底这么想
想和你走下去 没有你就走不动了 想要你 一直在我身边笑着

谢谢你 听我说话 谢谢你 听我说话没有笑我
好不可思议 只要在你面前 我就能变得率直

虽然不是所有事都有意义 但有想守护的人 那就是你
就算月历一张张撕去 也不会改变 认真地生气 也要吵架喔

喜欢上你太好了 能遇见你太好了 现在 打从心底这么想
想和你走下去 没有你就走不动了 想要你 一直在我身边笑着

在我俩的纪念日 送的花束 真不像我会做的事 你边害羞边这么说
装在花瓶里 那侧脸 想要一直在身边看着

我没有的东西 你会给我 你没有的东西 就让我给你吧
我俩都没有的东西 接下来一起 每天一点一点 去寻找吧

你活着这份幸福 与你一起活着的这份幸福 现在 用心咀嚼
就算很糗也无所谓 想哭时就哭吧 一直都只想着你喔

现在还看不见的未来 就算有多么不安
没问题 只要我俩在一起 莫名地就是这么觉得

喜欢上你太好了 能遇见你太好了 一直因为害羞 说不出口
想和你走下去 没有你就走不动了 想要你 一直在我身边笑着

你活着这份幸福 与你一起活着的这份幸福 现在 用心咀嚼
想和你走下去 没有你就走不动了 想要你 一直在我身边笑着

 

Self Liner Notes

虽然有许许多多的纪念日、但两个人一起度过平凡的每天、别把它当成理所当然、只要觉得它是特别的就好。两个人可以在一起的时间是无可取代的。很难得地写了幸福的曲子(笑)。

 

4 comments

  1. tPenguinLTG

    I tried figuring out the ambiguous line and I couldn’t either. With an implied subject, we have to look at the context, and that doesn’t help us much because it’s surrounded by sentence fragments, none of which have explicit subjects.

    If I were to choose one, though, I would probaby have it as a declaration by the singer. You’re right, though, the phrase at the end makes it more ambiguous.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Mahou no Hito | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English
  3. Pingback: TAKOYAKI | Oku Hanako - Chinese to English

Leave a comment

