Kanashimi Dake de Ikinai de

悲しみだけで生きないで (Kanashimi Dake de Ikinai de) · 别只带着悲伤生活 · Don’t Just Live in Sadness

In:
[Album] good-bye – track 13

It is not out of the ordinary for Oku Hanako to compose a sad song. Several of her love songs touch upon the ache of unrequited love. She also admitted in My Letter that the breakup of a romantic relationship was a main theme in her song writing. But none of those songs take sadness as far it is taken in Kanashimi Dake de Ikinai de. This song may seem out of character for Oku Hanako. Fortunately, this song is in the good-bye album so there are Self Liner Notes that summarise why she composed it.

 

English

That day, I suddenly lost everything
The house where I live, the street, the lives of people precious to me

Why did such a tragedy happen?
How many tears must I cry before tomorrow will come?

I will never forget the starry sky I saw on the night the street lights went out
It was so pretty, so pretty, but I only felt sadness

Live in spite of the sadness; only you can allow yourself to live
Live in spite of the sadness; only you can choose for yourself to live again1

Even if my heart is shaken, I don’t blame myself
Not all wounds will be healed with time

Someone whose name I don’t know shared their warmth with me
My trembling heart and my trembling body just felt very warm

Live in spite of the sadness; only you can allow yourself to live
Live in spite of the sadness; only you can choose for yourself to live again1

Live in spite of the sadness; allow yourself to live but don’t just live in sadness
Live in spite of the sadness; only you can choose for yourself to live again1

 

Self Liner Notes

This song was composed after I met a girl in an evacuation centre in Minamisanriku, Miyagi Prefecture, in May after the Great East Japan Earthquake2 that happened on 11 March 2011. “Instead of a song about working hard or offering encouragement, I hope you can compose a song about almost feeling at a loss as to what to do”, that girl sent a mail along these lines to me. I haven’t had this experience before, and furthermore this is very painful feeling of sadness, so I felt I could not sing this. But if she could tell me her feelings, perhaps I could sing it, so I sent a mail saying this to her. In September, the girl sent another mail to me. She honestly wrote me a message full of her sadness, frustration, and confusion. These lyrics may be very direct, but I feel it must be written this way. As I composed this song, I thought that there is no way to understand the state of mind of another person, no way to live in place of someone else; in the end everyone has to live for their own sake, and in doing so will connect with someone by chance.

 

Translation notes

1. The ends of the lines in the chorus are slightly different from each other:

1st: あなたにしか 出来ないこと (anata ni shika dekinai koto)

2nd: あなただけが 出来ること (anata dake ga dekiru koto)

But both are given the same Chinese translation:

只有你能做的事

Something only you can do

I found a helpful explanation of the difference between しか (shika) and けが (dake). As I understand, in general, both expressions are used to mean “only”. However, しか (shika) is used when saying something in a negative form (e.g. I will tell no one except you) whereas けが (dake) is used when saying something in a positive form (e.g. I will tell only you). So perhaps the chorus ought to be translated as:

To live in spite of the sadness, no one can allow you to live except you
To live in spite of the sadness, only you can choose for yourself to live again

 

2. Kimi no Egao is another song that Oku Hanako composed with the Great East Japan Earthquake in mind.

 

Simplified Chinese

那天 突然 我失去了一切
住的房子街道 重要的人的生命

为什么 会有这么悲伤的事呢
要流 多少泪 才能看见明天呢

灯光消失的 那晚看到的星空 永远忘不了
好美 好美 只是悲伤而已

就算如此还是要活下去 让你自己活下去 这是只有你 能做到的事
就算如此还是要活下去 再一次活下去 只有你 能做的事

就算心 动摇了 也不要责备自己
无论过了多少时间 也有无法消去的痛

连名字也不知道的某个人 将温暖 分给了我
颤抖的心 颤抖的身体 只觉得好温暖

就算如此还是要活下去 让你自己活下去 这是只有你 能做到的事
就算如此还是要活下去 再一次活下去 只有你 能做的事

就算如此还是要活下去 让你自己活下去 别只带着悲伤 生活
就算如此还是要活下去 再一次活下去 只有你 能做的事

 

Self Liner Notes

这首歌是在2011年3月11日、东日本大震灾之后、5月我在官城县南三陆町的避难所遇到了一个女孩后作的歌曲。“不是说要努力、也不是那种加油歌、希望我能作一首贴近不知该何去何从的那份感觉的歌曲”那女孩寄了这样的 Mail 给我、我自己没有体验过的事、何况又是如此沉痛的悲伤感、觉得自己什么都唱不出来。但是、若她能将她的感受告诉我、那么我似乎就能唱得出来、所以就这么回了 Mail 给她。到了9月、女孩再次写了 Mail 给我。信里充满了悲伤、不甘、迷惘、将一切真实地写了给我。这首歌词、可能真的很直接。但是我觉得一定得这样写才行。没办法懂得别人的心情、也没办法代替别人活着、最后还是得为了自己努力活着、然后在不知不觉间和某个谁相系着、我边作着这首歌边这么想着。

One comment

  1. Pingback: Kanashimi Dake de Ikinaide / 悲しみだけで生きないで | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

Leave a comment

