Mirai Chizu

未来地図 (Mirai chizu) · 未来地图 · Map of the Future

In:
[Album] Kimi to Boku no Michi – track 12

There’s a line in this song that stands out for me. Try and spot it as you read through the English translation. I’ll reveal the line at the end of the translation notes.

By the way, knowing that Oku Hanako uses real experience to write some of her songs, I wonder if the opening of the song actually happened to her or someone she knows. Sadly, Kimi to Boku no Michi does not include Self Liner Notes so I can only imagine.

 

English

I pressed a wrong key, and the manuscript that I stayed up late to finish was deleted
Everything was lost; not one word remained
As you watched me rage at the innocent computer
You said “Don’t give up”; I don’t know why you laughed at me

I have no choice but to start writing from scratch again
The new manuscript seems more fluent than the previous one
Yes, this must be the chance that comes after being in a pinch1
I murmur to myself to stop blaming others

I mix up various matters all the time as I wander about
I should be honest with my heart and move forwards with a purpose
I’ll spread out the map of tomorrow and head to a place I can go
Roads that I don’t know yet must be waiting for me

I want to know where I am
I keep taking in the scenery as I walk along
“I’ll take a different road home today” I said
I seem to have changed after meeting you

“Flowers are pretty but they wither quickly, so I don’t want them”
My heart also withered when I said that
Yes, that must have been me running away from the pain of loss
Not knowing how to change or how to stop; I was always like that

I make sure I always carry important matters with me
I can feel that my heart is moving forwards
If I spread out the map of tomorrow and have nowhere to go
I will create a new road even if it turns out bumpy

I imagine a road for you and me on the map of the future

I mix up various matters all the time as I wander about
I should be honest with my heart and move forwards with a purpose
I’ll spread out the map of tomorrow and head to a place I can go
Roads that I don’t know yet must be waiting for me

La la la … …

 

Translation notes

  1. In this line the Japanese lyrics use 外来語 (gairaigo) or borrowed words. The borrowed words are “ピンチ (pinchi)” for “pinch” and “チャンス (chansu)” for “chance”. The English translation can still be understood if these words are used, but it appears a little unnatural compared to something like “Yes, this must be the silver lining of a cloud”. My preference is to use the borrowed words.

The line that stands out for me is:

I imagine a road for you and me on the map of the future

I like this line because it includes the name of the song and the album. Well, almost. The Japanese lyrics actually use “君と僕が歩く道を (kimi to boku ga aruku michi o)”, not “君と僕の道 (Kimi to Boku no Michi)”. The meaning of “歩く(aruku)” is “walk”, so perhaps the translation should be “I imagine a road for you and me to walk along on the map of the future”. In this line the Chinese translation uses “你与我的道路”, which is also the translation of the album name. I have followed the Chinese translation.

 

Simplified Chinese

熬夜终于赶出的原稿 按错了1个键
不留1个字 消除的干干净净
看着对无罪的电脑 出气的我
你说了加油 不知为何对我笑了

没办法 只好再次从头写起
好像比刚刚 写得更顺
对了一定 是在危机之后 就会有转机吧
碎碎念着 只是怪罪别人的自己 停止吧

总是把各种事情 混在一起 流转着
对自己的心 诚实吧 往目的地前进
展开明天的地图 到能去的地方吧
还不知道的路 一定等待着我

我站着的这个地方 想知道是哪儿
总是在意周围景色走着
“今天走和平常不同的路回家吧”这么说了
与你相遇后的我 好像改变了

“花虽美但很快就枯了所以不要”
这么说了的我 心也枯萎了吧
对了一定 是从失去的痛楚
逃开的我 无法改变 也无法停止 一直是这样吧

重要的事总是在这胸口 确实携带着
感受着 自己的心 往前进
展开明天的地图 若无处可去
就算颠簸 也要开创新的道路

描绘在未来地图上 你与我的道路

总是把各种事情 混在一起 流转着
对自己的心 诚实吧 往目的地前进
展开明天的地图 到能去的地方吧
还不知道的路 一定等待着我

La la la ······

Leave a comment

