Fuyu Hanabi

冬花火(Fuyu Hanabi) · 冬日烟火 · Winter Fireworks

In:
[Album] Kimi to Boku no Michi – track 4
[Single] Fuyu Hanabi – track 1

While translating Fuyu Hanabi, by chance I came across a translation of it on Misa-chan’s J-pop blog. Misa-chan’s translation is a direct translation from Japanese to English instead of via a third language as mine is. As I had already started my translation, I decided to finish the job.

This is probably a good time to mention how I choose the order in which to translate songs that I have Chinese lyrics for. My sorting priority is based on how much I like the song, whether the song is one that tPenguinLTG wants a translation for, and whether I know of a translation for the song or not. I’m also leaning towards finishing the good-bye album first because of the Self Liner Notes in it. I intend to translate all the songs, but if I know the song has a translation then I will put a lower priority on it.

Out of interest, I compared the two translations to see how similar they are. Most of the lines express similar meanings with the same or similar words. There are a couple of instances where the translation is quite different and these are pointed out in the translation notes below.

English

Today, just laughing with you made my chest restless again
If I noticed the centre of my heart, I’d realise a feeling of “liking you” had grown there1

On a winter day when the wind turned cold
You shyly told me
That you like my friend

I want to cry but I cannot cry. My unrequited love
I should have realised it earlier
Will sorrow and affection slowly fade?
You are my winter firework2

If you say you like something then I will like it too3
But if you mention that person, I will desperately cover my ears with all my effort

As snow slowly melted on the park bench
You asked me “Is there someone you like?”4
Why do you ask me things I don’t want you to ask?

Actually, I want to try saying “I like you a lot”
“We cannot continue being friends”5
Quickly discover my unrequited love that tells lies
Nobody can see these winter fireworks

The girl that causes you to worry
I am envious of her
When winter ends, will I be able to smile before the two of you?

I want to cry but I cannot cry. My unrequited love
Even if it is an impossible romance
Will sorrow and affection slowly fade?
They are our winter fireworks6

 

Translation notes

Note 1: The Chinese translation uses “一回神(yi4 hui2 shen2)” which I had never seen before. Searching on the internet did not lead to a satisfactory definition. I did find a Chinese song released in November 2014 that used this as the title and in its lyrics, though the context was not helpful enough. The Chinese translation was a dead end to me so I turned to the Japanese lyrics.

The Japanese lyrics use “気付けば(kizukeba)” which is the provisional conditional “-ba” form of “kizuku”. The same website describes the meaning of “kizuku” as “to sense, realise, notice”. An explanation of conditionals, or “How to say ‘if’ in Japanese”, by Tae Kim, says that the “ば(ba)” conditional indicates “a regular ‘if’ condition without any assumptions or embedded meanings” and that it emphasises the condition to satisfy rather than the outcome.

From my research, I decided to translate it as “If I noticed the centre of my heart, I’d realise a feeling of “liking you” had grown there”. Also, using “If I noticed … I’d realise” makes sense in the context of the lyrics of the Chinese song “一回神” and that is good.

Misa-chan translated the line as “Before I knew it, feelings of ‘love’ had grown deep in my heart” which I think is a good way to put it.

 

Note 2: Here I decided to use the singular “firework” to match the singular “you”.

 

Note 3: We have very different translations here.

Misa-chan’s translation “These feelings of love for you [have] grown so deep”

My translation “If you say you like something then I will like it too”

Although the words used are completely different, the suggestion that the singer is absolutely smitten with him can be understood from either translation.

 

Note 4: Again, we have very different translations.

Misa-chan’s translation “‘Won’t someone help me?’ You asked”

My translation “You asked me ‘Is there someone you like?’”

This time we don’t even share the same meaning. The question asked in the Chinese translation is “有喜欢的人吗? (you3 xi3 huan1 de0 ren2 ma0?)” which I am certain translates to “Is there someone you like?”

The question asked in the Japanese lyrics is “誰かいい奴いないの? (Dare ka ii yatsu inai no?)” and I think I have watched enough subbed anime to translate that if I knew the meaning of “奴(yatsu)”. Tae Kim explains that “yatsu” is an informal or rude way to say “guy”. It can also be used to refer to things. On an aside, in Chinese it is “奴(nu2)” which means “slave” or “servant”.

So I think the question is along the lines of “Is there someone who is a nice guy (informal)?” and I use informal to mean that the speaker and the listener are on good close terms. As I lack understanding of how to deduce context in Japanese, this information is not particularly helpful. “A nice guy” could refer to someone who is willing to help or to someone who is considered nice because of affectionate feelings towards that person.

A couple of lines later, the singer wants to say “I like you” (this is common to both English translations). It would make sense to say this in response to a question such as “Is there someone you like?”, but it would also make sense for it to be a spontaneous love confession. A point that leans towards supporting the latter is that the lines (the question and what may be an answer) appear in separate verses.

In the end, I’ll stand by my translation (which by extension includes having faith in the Japanese to English translation) but you are free to choose the one you like.

 

Note 5: I consider this line to be part of what the singer wants to try saying to him. On the other hand, it could be the singer’s realisation that she cannot be friends with him if he has a girlfriend. The lack of quotation marks in the lyrics makes it difficult to say for sure.

 

Note 6: If this line was by itself, I would have used the same translation as Misa-chan “Our winter fireworks”. However, in the context of the verse, I think it should relate to the “sorrow and affection”.

 

Simplified Chinese

今天也 和你一起笑着 仅仅这样胸口就好忙碌
一回神心的正中央 孕育了“喜欢”的心情

风儿变冷的冬日
你害羞地告诉了我
喜欢我的那个朋友

好想哭 哭不出来 我的单恋
这种事 早该知道了
悲伤 深爱 会渐渐消失吗
你是 我的 冬日烟火

只要你说喜欢的东西 我都会喜欢上
但只要你说起那个人 我就会拼命地用心遮住耳朵

雪渐融 在公园长椅上
有喜欢的人吗?你问了我
为什么 这种事 不要问我

好喜欢你 其实 想试着说出口
不能再当朋友了
快发现吧 谎话连篇的 我的单恋
谁也看不见的 冬日烟火

让你 如此烦恼的
那女孩 好让我羡慕
冬天要结束时 可以在你们俩面前笑着吗

好想哭 哭不出来 我的单恋
就算是无法实现的恋爱
悲伤 深爱 会渐渐消失吗
你和 我的 冬日烟火

One comment

  1. Pingback: Translation for Fuyu Hanabi / 冬花火 | Thoughts on Oku Hanako

Leave a comment

